Award Thursday

No Read-Through post today, my friends, except for me to say that I just finished Sarah Darer Littman’s Life, After and I cried. A very important story.

But let’s get some business out of the way.

First, in Monday’s post I included a tidbit about myself that wasn’t quite true. A couple of you did guess it – I do not always come straight to the point. I can’t help myself, but I am a bloviator. A few of you thought it might be that my husband doesn’t join me in foodie adventures. Let me set the record straight. I called him blade-wielding because he is a chef. He keeps me very well-fed. We absolutely do have foodie adventures together and he definitely wields a blade, in the form of a very cool chef’s knife that is just the most awesome thing for chopping anything. Like rejection letters. Just kidding.

One of you (good thinking, Margo B.) pointed out the unfeasibility of sea ducks hanging out at my parents’ pool. Well, I stretched the meaning a little bit. Sea ducks – no, just regular ducks hang out each Spring, sit on their eggs and bathe in the pool cover. It’s quite a sight. So, I didn’t mean for that to be the lie, but in a sense, it was.

Next, I was pleasantly surprised to win an award yesterday. The very intelligent Alison Stevens gave me the Stylish Blogger Award. Check out the other winners (they include my critique friend, Laura Diamond, and several new crusader friends) and give Alison’s blog a look-see. She is a scientist AND a writer – how cool is that?!

Now I must tell you 7 things about me and then pass the award to 15 new stylin’ bloggin’ fools.

1. I am tired of winter. I wouldn’t mind living somewhere that didn’t ever go below freezing. I lived that way once upon a time and I don’t remember missing the snow or the ice or the cold or the wind.

2. An African forest elephant once trumpeted at me and my Land Rover. In a forest. In Africa (at Lake Manyara, in Tanzania, to be exact).

3. In grad school, my roommate’s parents called the cops because we weren’t home one night when they called us.

4. My college used to do a campus-wide primal scream the night before exams started. Sometimes I miss that.

5. I am allergic to cats.

6. When we win the lottery (which we don’t play), I want to go back to school to get a degree in linguistics.

7. My part time job is pretty cool – I get to teach French children’s songs to elementary kids. It means I get to sing, and speak French, and be with (mostly) cute kids.

Okay, now I pass this award to:

Suzanne Lilly
Brenda Drake at Brenda Drake writes…under the influence of coffee
Stephanie Thornton at Hatshepsut: The writing of a novel
Zoe Courtman at No Letters on My Keyboard
Alison Miller at Left Brained by Day; Write Brained – all the Time
L.L. McKinney at Info Dump a la El
Amanda Milner at Amanda’s Twisted Truths
Lisa Potts at Pursuing Love, Laughter and My Elusive Muse
Miles McG at An Author’s Quest
Sari Webb at Confessions of an Aspiring Author
Julie Musil from Writing and Blogging Between Carpools
Tanya Reimer at Life’s Like That
Margo Kelly
Nicole Ducleroir at One Significant Moment at a Time
Rachael Harrie at Rach Writes…
Sarah/Constance/Pixie at The Precocious Scribe

Check out my new and old friends and give them some bloggin’ love.

22 Comments

Filed under Reading, writing

22 responses to “Award Thursday

  1. Congrats on the award!

    *primal scream* 😉 (No sense in letting a good thing go to the wayside, lol!)

  2. Vicki Tremper

    You’re always so quick, Laura! Should we schedule primal screams every time we’re about to write, revise, query or submit?

  3. Elephants!!! That must have been amazing… what incredible, intelligent creatures.

  4. I LOVE that you used the word “bloviator”. It sounds exactly like what it is, but so few people know what it means.

  5. You could live in my town, where it is never below freezing. However, you may just get sick of the disgusting heat we’ve been having lately, the way I am. 😛

    6 months of at-times extreme summer heat isn’t my friend.

  6. I just love the thought of you singing to little kids in French~ so sweet! By the way, my over-salting problem is true–I have a sodium deficiency and crave it more than other people (okay, that’s not true). BUT, if I ever have a really nice meal either at home or out, I assume it’s well-seasoned and eat it as-is. And I resisted the urge when I lived in Spain since salt and pepper weren’t always on the table 🙂

  7. Congrats on the award and to the new recipients!

    We didn’t have a primal scream in college, but they did have the marching band march through the library the night before the organic chemistry final every year. I loved that!

    • Vicki Tremper

      Faith: Elephants are a fave animal in our house.
      Caryn: I was happy to use such an obscure word in a real sentence.
      Trisha: Guess I’ll stay here. It will be Spring soon enough. Stay cool!
      Jess: Glad you’re working to keep that over-salting under control. Singing in French is waaayyy fun!

      Thanks for all the comments everyone. Hope I didn’t miss anyone.

      -Vicki

  8. Yikes! What a surprise! I’m in a sweater and jammies, my hair is disarray, yet sooooo stylish! Gotta love that.
    I adore your seven things. You’re just a giant story waiting to explode.

    We got talking about teaching French to our kids– do you have ressources in your area to help with this? Library, cultral centres, etc… a lady told me her son and her learnt English by playing the TV in the background in English. Can you believe that? He caught on quicker than her, but still… there are ways when we want to, eh?
    I love that you sing with them. It’s the BEST way to learn anything.
    Thanks for the award.

    • Vicki Tremper

      Surprise! And check your email too, as long as you’re up. We do the best we can with French, but I haven’t focused on it much. We hope to spend a summer in France one of these years, so that they have no choice.

      I loved your comment that I’m a giant story waiting to explode – thanks! Here’s hoping…

  9. Thanks so much for sharing this award! I appreciate it. Hey, that story with the african forest elephant sounds wild. Like it should be in a commercial or something. How cool that you experienced that first hand!

  10. Thank you so much for the award- it brightened my day!

    I could also do with a little less winter, but then I choose to live in Alaska. I’m going on a cruise next Saturday and can’t wait to sit in the sun and soak up the Vitamin D.

    Happy weekend!

  11. Hey Vicki,

    Congrats on the award, and thanks for passing it on to me 🙂

    Lovely to learn more about you!

    Hugs,

    Rach

  12. Hi Vicki! Thank you so much for thinking of me when passing on the award. You made my morning!! Congrats on winning it, too :))

    My husband and I are foodies, too — although I must qualify a bit. Hubs is French, and so he takes food preparation and consuming very seriously. We are adventuresome in our tastes, but we cook has a French-ish flair.

    I love learning what I have in common with my blogging buddies! Hope your weekend is going great 🙂

    • Vicki Tremper

      Tanya, Julie, Stephanie, Rachael and Nicole: You are all very welcome!
      Nicole: My husband trained at the CIA, which means French preparation, too. Yum!

  13. Vicki, I’m allergic to cats too. And that Africa story sounds amazing. Thanks so much for passing the award on to me!

  14. Congrats on your award. I have a dream of going to Africa on a safari to see the wild life. My favorite being elephants. I’m also allergic to cats. And I’m also sooo sick of winter. I need sunshine and soon.

  15. Hey! Congrats on the award, and thanks for passing it along to me! 🙂 Happy writing.

  16. Congrats on the award! Primal screaming and a trumpeting elephant – cool. 🙂 New follower and fellow crusader here, just (finally) making the rounds. Happy Tuesday!

  17. HEY!! Just got this! (Been kinda a social media recluse lately – gotta get OUT of it! Maybe all these exclamation points’ll help!) Anyway, thanks so much for the award. It was nice to see that someone out there was thinking of me 🙂 Made my day 🙂 P.S. Just like you, I harbor dreams of studying linguistics one day, especially theoretical linguistics. Cool 🙂

  18. I LOVE your facts about yourself! Elephants and primal screaming, awesome! I too would love to live somewhere where it doesn’t dip below freezing. *sigh*
    Thank you for the award! And to continue the blog love, lol, I have another award for you! No pressure on doing another pass it along post though, I was lucky enough to get them at once so I did a combo post;) Lol!

  19. Ok, I should have verified that I am in the process of posting your award on my blog tonight! 😉 Sorry.

Leave a comment