May Updates

Sprite finished the 10 Captain Underpants books and has gone back to the Magic Tree House books. He’s currently reading #25, about Shakespeare. He’s looking forward to giving the first Harry Potter a try this summer, since his brother started Harry Potter at this age.

A-Read is taking a break from Lord of the Rings. He finished a historical fantasy about the Three Musketeers and is now reading a MG fantasy (The Shadows from The Books of Elsewhere series). He’s halfway through and told me last night that it’s great. He’s looking forward to reading the last Harry Potter this summer.

I’m reading Code Name Verity, by Elizabeth Wein. I gave in to the pressure, even though I didn’t really want to read yet another book about World War II. I’m about halfway and I’m very glad I gave in. The research is astounding and the main character definitely has my attention. My stomach twists in anticipation of the plot twists to come.

As for writing, I’m working on a couple of freelance projects and revising a YA novel.

How’s your May?

6 Comments

Filed under Reading, writing

6 responses to “May Updates

  1. May has been crazy, VB! We’re moving to CA next month, so we’ve been busy doing all the moving things. I did get to read/finish John Green’s Looking For Alaska, and thought it was excellent. I’m also steadily working on a contemporary project–which is a bit out of my comfort zone (I’ve mostly written fantasy/speculative stuff up to this point) but it’s been a lot of fun so far.

    It’s about a college baseball player who is really awesome at pitching, but pretty much sucks at everything else in life. lol

    So cool you’re son is going to start HP soon! A huge world about to open up for him I think. 🙂

  2. Sounds like a busy couple of boys!!! We’re suddenly into non-fiction around here. How was the earth made? Where do animals come from? Ya know, easy questions I glad books can answer properly. hee hee

  3. I’m lost in the world of Peter and the Starcatchers. LOVING IT. It’s the prequel series to Peter Pan. I’m on book 4 and still enchanted.

  4. Margo Berendsen

    Oh Oh OH we must talk about Code Name Verity when you are done! What was the three musketeers historical fantasy?? I need more historical fantasies. By the way, when will your HF be ready??? smile

  5. With so many of my writing buddies reading Code Name Verity maybe I should give in too.
    May was brutal to me and I sought refuge in reading as many MG as I could.

  6. Man! I guess it’s been a while since I visited! I’m sorry, Vicki. 😦 Great books all around. My son is reading Divergent (I approve!).

Leave a Reply

