A-Read Update

So now that Sprite is a regular reader (currently working on the 10th Captain Underpants), it’s time for an update on A-Read (almost 10 years old). Here’s a list of his recent reads:

The BFG, Roald Dahl
The Fellowship of the Ring (Lord of the Rings, Book 1), J.R.R. Tolkien
Bomb: The Race to Build – and Steal – the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon, Steve Sheinkin
The Hobbit, J.R.R. Tolkien
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, J.K. Rowling

Next on his shelf:

The Last Musketeer, Stuart Gibbs
The Shadows (The Books of Elsewhere, Book 1), Jacqueline West

So as usual, he’s into fantasy (with a brief foray into non-fiction). But within that broad genre, he’s into a little bit of everything.

What’s on your shelf?

10 Comments

Filed under Reading, The rest of my life

10 responses to “A-Read Update

  1. I’m currently reading The Circle – an MG read about Sidhe. My 9-yr-old is reading the latest, greatest Geronimo Stilton book.

  2. We started a new series with the little guy, My brother is a Big Fat Liar. Sooo funny.
    He’s taking in some great books! lol.

  3. Oh, I loved The BFG when I was a kid! Now I need to reread it. Possibly buy it so it’s all set to go when my kids are a little older.

  4. It’s great your kids love to read, Vicki. All I see these days are kids on DS’ or tablets, playing games. I’m re-reading Memoirs of a Geisha (not ready to let it go yet) The Forest for the Trees by Betsy Lerner, a book about writing and publishing, and Brava Valentine. No wonder I have no time to write. By the way, have your children tried Swallows and Amazons by Arthur Ransom? I think they’d love it.

  5. Wow! Awesome choices! I have a ten yr old too. She doesn’t LOVE fantasy. *gasp*

  6. Great list. Your the best mom EVER. Nudge him to check out Peter and the Starcatchers. It’s awesome with a cherry on top.

  7. I have Storybound, The Peculiar, Three Times Lucky and The Keeper Of The Lost Cities on my “shelf”.
    I love that your kid is into a little bit of everything.

  8. What a great list! Maybe I’ll reread some Dahl… I just reread Tolkien myself!

  9. 10 years old and reading The Fellowship of the Ring??? Give us an update on how he like that! I tried it at 12, couldn’t get into it. Tried it again at 14, and fell in love. Just curious.

  10. dennis876

    good old lord of the rings films are good as well

Leave a Reply

