Marvelous Middle Grade Monday: The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls

Author Shannon Whitney Messenger began Marvelous Middle Grade Mondays a while back. If you love middle grade literature, check out her blog on Mondays for a list of other sites featuring MG books.

Today I’ll talk about The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls by Claire Legrand. Cavendish Home cover

From Goodreads: At the Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, you will definitely learn your lesson. A dark, timeless, and heartfelt novel for fans of Coraline and The Mysterious Benedict Society.

Victoria hates nonsense. There is no need for it when your life is perfect. The only smudge on her pristine life is her best friend Lawrence. He is a disaster—lazy and dreamy, shirt always untucked, obsessed with his silly piano. Victoria often wonders why she ever bothered being his friend. (Lawrence does too.)

But then Lawrence goes missing. And he’s not the only one. Victoria soon discovers that The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls is not what it appears to be. Kids go in but come out…different. Or they don’t come out at all.

If anyone can sort this out, it’s Victoria—even if it means getting a little messy.

From Vicki: Yes, creepy. It was deliciously creepy until Victoria got to the Cavendish Home and then it went to a whole new level, beyond Coraline.

I brought this home for A-Read and he gobbled it up. We both got a laugh out of the name of the main character and he enjoyed the creep-factor. After I read it we discussed some of the more ghoulish elements. Of course they didn’t bother him at all.

Anyway, Victoria was quite the character. A solitary perfectionist in a perfect town whose journey leaves her perfectly unperfect. There’s more, of course, to that journey, but I don’t want to spoil it for you.

What’s your favorite creepy read?

7 Comments

Filed under Reading

7 responses to “Marvelous Middle Grade Monday: The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls

  1. I’ve heard mixed things about the book. Someone told me the plot dragged. I still want to read it.

  2. Ooh….”…it’s not what it appears.” What MGer wouldn’t love a story that poses questions like this? Sounds great! Thanks for sharing it.

  3. So far The Graveyard Book is still my most favorite out of all my favorites (including The Cavendish home for boys and girls).

  4. Ooh, creepier than Coraline has me intrigued! My favorite creepy read is Stephen King’s Desperation–not middle grade reading, incidentally. 🙂 Probably the freakiest book I’ve ever read. Actually gave me grownup nightmares! lol

    As far as MG/younger reads goes, I do love The Graveyard Book as Akoss mentioned. The Last Apprentice Series by Joseph Delaney are also wonderfully spooky.

  5. I added this book to my list when I first saw reviews about it and even the REVIEWS were written in Victoria’s perfectionist voice! Um, so, how creepy is it, exactly????

  6. I had to stop by and say hello after seeing your name. My last name being Tremp, I’ve been called Tremper my whole life.

  7. Sounds strange. Should be right up my alley. Creepy? Well… Insomnia by Steven King gave me nightmaresssssss.

Leave a Reply

