Read-Through Thursday: Shifting Pride

This is a series wherein I discuss whatever book I’m reading or have just finished. Feel free to post in the comments what you’re reading or your own thoughts about the books I discuss.

I haven’t done one of these in a while (not since last January, in fact), because last year I read a lot of middle grade and so participated in MMGM instead. So, welcome back!

Shifting Pride by Laura Diamond shifting pride cvr

From Goodreads: Sixteen-year-old Nickie Leone has proof that her missing (presumed dead) father is still alive. Receiving his watch in the mail is the first in a line of clues bringing her closer to discovering his whereabouts. But clues aren’t the only new thing in Nickie’s life. There’s the Memorial Banquet her mother insists she help prepare for, there’s the new kid/hottie, Xavian, and…well, the growth of whiskers and a tail!

Filled with secrets and a new love of tuna fish, Nickie must partner up with Xavian (don’t you know he’s a shapeshifter too?) to rescue her dad before she loses him forever. Oh, and she needs to figure out how to be a cat, too.

From Vicki: Full disclosure: Laura is one of my writing and critiquing buddies, but I did not read any part of this book before it was published.

This was my first YA about shifters and it was fun. Action-packed. Full of tension and emotion. Lots of believable conflict between the different characters. A bad guy you really want Nickie to defeat, and a goal you really want her to achieve.

And thank you, Laura, for NOT including a triangle.

What’s your favorite shifter novel? Does it have a love triangle?

7 Comments

Filed under Reading

7 responses to “Read-Through Thursday: Shifting Pride

  1. Margo Berendsen

    I love shapeshifters and in my opinion they haven’t been overdone in books yet. I always wanted to be a shifter myself!

  2. Catherine Johnson

    I loved it too. Have you read Maggie Stiefvater’s Linger? Such different styles but both awesome!

  3. This is my favorite shifter novel. 🙂

  4. Lisa Gail Green

    Sounds fun! My favorite shifter novel? Mistwood by Leah Cypess, though it sounds very different from this!

  5. I used to read a lot of Christine Feehan books (she writes adult romance with shifters) until I discovered YA and MG books. Personally I dislike love triangles, I’m not sure why.
    I want to read this novel too but I have to wait until my book buying ban is lifted completely. (I can’t wait)

  6. Oh yay, so glad you liked it! Thanks for spotlighting Shifting Pride! ***hugs***

  7. No triangle?! Someone take her ‘YA paranormal’ card away! 😀 Sounds like a fun read.

    By the way, I love the look of your blog! (I’ve now subscribed to your posts via eMail, so you’ll be seeing much more of me around here now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

