Remembrances of New Jersey

In honor of today being the day we observe Veterans Day in the United States, I have two goals:

First, thank you to RocketMan for his service to our country. He’ll wave this away and want me to instead thank and honor the men and women fighting right now for our freedom. And I do thank them. But everyone who served even a day deserves our thanks. So…thanks.

Second, I need to remember the Jersey Shore in the wake of Sandy’s destruction. I wasn’t born a Jersey Girl, but I grew up only two hours away from the shore. My friends and I spent the weekend after our prom at Seaside Heights. I lived in Hoboken for a few years when I first came back from Africa. And RocketMan and I told his family about our first pregnancy at Jenkinson’s Boardwalk in Point Pleasant.

RocketMan grew up near there. He has many more memories than I do. Knowing how much those photos break my heart, I can’t even imagine how he and my in-laws and some of our closest friends feel. A piece of their childhoods are now gone.

Rebuilding will be a long, hard road, but worth it in the end to so many people.

Thank you for reading my maudlin post today. Now I’ll go back to NaNoWriMo, work, and the kids. What do you go back to?

5 Comments

Filed under The rest of my life

5 responses to “Remembrances of New Jersey

  1. I’m sure that is so hard to see a place with so many memories going through such trouble! I know it will eventually recover, but it will never be the same.

  2. My heart goes out to everyone in Sandy’s path. I remember how traumatic the ’94 quake was here in LA when your house basically crumbles around your feet. My thoughts and prayers are with everyone picking up the pieces.

  3. Lovely post. Sending those affected all my best wishes and prayers.

  4. Lovely post. I believe every day should be veterans day.
    Sending positive thoughts to your in-laws. I can’t even begin to imagine what they are going through.
    Now I must get back to my baby.

Leave a Reply

