I’m Back

So you may have noticed I haven’t been around much (here, on your blogs, on Twitter) for the past month. If you didn’t notice, I’m sorry but I’m just too busy to get upset. That would have upset me two months ago since I have a need to be liked and missed and stuff. But now, as I said, I’m too busy.

About a month ago I got a new job. It’s related to French-teaching, not writing, but it’s the job I’ve been waiting for since my youngest son went to school full time. You know, the job I could feel good about. The job I could get passionate about. The job that didn’t put my education and experience to waste.

On top of the new job, I’m still taking care of my kids and making sure they do their homework and feeding them when my husband is away and laundering their clothes. And stuff. Among the “and stuff” is the sweater I’m crocheting for A-Read. I’m currently on the second sleeve so it’s almost done. But then I have to make a sweater for #2 son (gosh, I still don’t have a suitable nickname for him).

And I’m still reading. Of course. I couldn’t live without reading. And I’m still writing, but at a much slower pace than ever before.

I had started a new wip just before I got the new job and I’m still really excited about this new book. It’s different than anything else I’ve ever written. The main character is more different from me than any other character I’ve ever written. I’m allowing it to happen in dribs and drabs for now, but I plan to do NaNo again this year. And I WILL finish the wip in November.

Yup. You heard it here.

So what have you all been up to in the past month? Tell me about all your wonderful projects, whether reading, writing, or crafty, or whatever. I’m hungry for your news.

14 Comments

Filed under The rest of my life

14 responses to “I’m Back

  1. I’m glad you’re back! Congratulations on the new job, the new projects, all of that! My project is writing the synopses for Books 2 and 3. Having a little trouble with that, but I’ll devote myself to it tonight, if the baby’s cold doesn’t keep him awake.

  2. Catherine Johnson

    I’m so happy for you, Vicki. It sounds like you’ve got the perfect combination now. I sure am finding it weird with both mine in school.
    Nice to have you back and good luck with NaNo 🙂

  3. Hi Vicki,
    We all go through those times when the hours go so much more quickly than they used to. It sounds like you’re cramming a lot in to those few hours. Congratulations on the new job. I love your posts so you were missed, and it’s funny too, because I haven’t been around the blogisphere much of late either. Maybe it’s the time of year, I don’t know. Just so much going on right now. Just like you. Keep smiling. Hugs!

  4. Yay on a job you love! Nice to have my partner in crime back out here. lol

  5. Great to hear from you! Congratulations on your new job – it sounds very rewarding. I revealed the cover for The Big Smoke today and am doing everything I can to have the novel ready for its release date in late October. Very exciting times! 🙂

  6. Busy, busy, busy! Congrats on the job. Welcome back!

  7. You said it, not me! I hope you reach your goal. 🙂

  8. Congratulations on your new job – and on making progress on your WIP! Oh, yes, and congrats on the pitch contest the other day! I read the Agent Awesome blog, and was excited to see your name on there.

  9. Ack. Operation Awesome, not Agent Awesome. Should never type and listen to my daughter talk at the same time. 🙂

  10. I had noticed you’d been missing and glad you are back!! NaNoWriMo has helped me so much with giving my writing a short-time priority when it often takes a lower priority due to juggling work & family. Congrats on the job!

  11. I’m glad you’re so happy with your new job and I NOTICED you were absent on the blog. However I do find your tweets so they keep me up to date.
    Nothing interesting happening on my side other than motherhood stuff 😉
    Writing is almost nonexistent for so many reasons. *sigh*
    But family and life come first. Right? Hugs!

  12. Congrats on the fabulous new job, and on still writing even though you’re super busy now. Life is good, yes?

  13. Yay for your new job. I’ve been in a vortex of too much to do lately as well. Must be some invisible “too busy” rays in the atmosphere. Sending you positive WIP vibes.

Leave a Reply

