Marvelous Middle Grade Monday: Breadcrumbs

Author Shannon Whitney Messenger began Marvelous Middle Grade Mondays a while back. If you love middle grade literature, check out her blog on Mondays for a list of other sites featuring MG books.

Today I’ll talk about Breadcrumbs by Anne Ursu.

From Goodreads: Once upon a time, Hazel and Jack were best friends. They had been best friends since they were six, spending hot Minneapolis summers and cold Minneapolis winters together, dreaming of Hogwarts and Oz, superheroes and baseball. Now that they were eleven, it was weird for a boy and a girl to be best friends. But they couldn’t help it – Hazel and Jack fit, in that way you only read about in books. And they didn’t fit anywhere else.

And then, one day, it was over. Jack just stopped talking to Hazel. And while her mom tried to tell her that this sometimes happens to boys and girls at this age, Hazel had read enough stories to know that it’s never that simple. And it turns out, she was right. Jack’s heart had been frozen, and he was taken into the woods by a woman dressed in white to live in a palace made of ice. Now, it’s up to Hazel to venture into the woods after him. Hazel finds, however, that these woods are nothing like what she’s read about, and the Jack that Hazel went in to save isn’t the same Jack that will emerge. Or even the same Hazel.

Inspired by Hans Christian Andersen’s “The Snow Queen,” Breadcrumbs is a story of the struggle to hold on, and the things we leave behind.

From Vicki: This is a beautiful coming-of-age story about friendship and loss and fitting in. While I didn’t have a friend like this growing up, I can relate to not feeling like I fit in. As I grew up, however, I realized that I fit in better than I’d thought, and that there are plenty of others who feel that way, too.

Here’s what my son, A-Read, had to say:

I was inspired to read this book because my mom said it was a good book.

Hazel is an 11-year-old girl who was adopted from India and is brave.

The main problem is Jack is acting weird.

I liked this book because it had a lot of fantasy and I like fantasy.

A connection I made while reading this book was they like Harry Potter and I like Harry Potter.

I couldn’t resist ending on a comical note.

13 Comments

Filed under Reading, The rest of my life

13 responses to “Marvelous Middle Grade Monday: Breadcrumbs

  1. The Snow Queen is one of my favorites. Breadcrumbs sounds like it has some good depth for its readers. I’m in.

  2. Catherine Johnson

    Ooh I love fantasy too. This sounds perfect! I was trying to use the ice castle in a pb, so I’d live to read about one. Thanks Vicki.

  3. I just finished this book a week ago. I loved the voice. It was beautifully written. My soon-to-be 10-year-old daughter will read it next.

  4. Sounds wonderful. I assumed from the title it was going to be Hansel and Gretel! LOL. I love hearing what “real” readers have to say.

  5. I like that your son gives reviews. Fun!

    What a great cover to that book too.

  6. I love that Andersen story. This one sounds really interesting!

  7. Sounds like a beautiful story. Thanks for telling us about it! 🙂

  8. Well of course the Harry Potter connection is important! That was so cute, btw. 🙂

  9. I love it that you enjoyed it.
    I remember how crazy I was about this book last year. It’s still on my shelves and I pet it every now and then.
    Really good story 🙂

  10. Margo Berendsen

    Feeling a little backwards because I didn’t know that Hans Christian Anderson wrote about the Snow Queen. Sounds a little familiar to the Witch in the first Narnia book… I’m intrigued!

  11. Jack is acting weird.
    *Smiles*
    I love how kids can just make it that simple!

  12. I’ve always loved the fairy tale, The Snow Queen and this re-telling sounds like something I’d love. I don’t read much MG but I may have to try read this one. thanks 🙂

  13. This sounds like a wonderful story that touches at the heart of the changes kids begin to encounter in the tween years.

Leave a Reply

