Marvelous Middle Grade Monday: Earthling Hero

Middle Grade Author Shannon Whitney Messenger began Marvelous Middle Grade Mondays a while back. If you love middle grade literature, check out her blog for a list of other sites featuring MG books.

Today I’ll talk about Earthling Hero by Anita Laydon Miller.

From Goodreads: Imagine waking one summer night to see someone standing beside your bed. The “someone” is a complete stranger, but looks exactly like you. That’s what happens to eleven-year-old Mikey Murphy. The next few days of his life are filled with adventures – breaking into a high-security military installation, engaging expert assassins in hand-to-hand combat, searching for an evil alien’s hideout in the middle of a national landmark – all with two new alien friends at his side. Can Mikey and his friends survive their adventures and save the world?

From Vicki: This is one of the good self-published novels out there. Sure, it isn’t perfect (but plenty of traditionally-published books aren’t either), but it was a fun story that would absolutely appeal to kids. And it wasn’t riddled with easily fixed mistakes to drag down the narrative. I do wonder what the sales were like considering that I can’t get my middle-grade reader to read ebooks yet. Maybe over a school break when he doesn’t have to bring his book to school every day.

This was my kind of sci-fi. An adventure that took place in a world I could understand, with characters kids can relate to.

Anyone out there read it? What did you think?

9 Comments

Filed under Reading

9 responses to “Marvelous Middle Grade Monday: Earthling Hero

  1. Oh my, I can’t imagine waking up to someone standing next to my bed. Add to it they look just like me. Ugh, I’d scream and never stop.

  2. VB, how nice to see Anita’s book here. Thanks for the honest review.

  3. This definitely sounds like a book boys will enjoy. I haven’t read it, but I may give it a try. Ciara, you’re cracking me up with your comment!

  4. My kids like ebooks, because it means I read it to them. lol. Why is that so great? Not sure why I don’t trust them with my Kindle either. Thanks for great suggestion, it sounds freaky-cool.

  5. I think you hit the nail on the head when you said you could relate to this sci-fi. I think any good fantasy or sci-fi has to be relatable.

  6. It sounds like an original idea for sure. And scary the way kids love scary. Nice review. It piqued my interest but no spoilers.

  7. Haven’t read it, but it sounds like fun!

  8. lesliesullirose

    I need to beef up the middle grade sci-fi in my classroom. This sounds like a good one. Waking up to someone by your bed is creepy good – in a book – not in real life.

  9. Hey! Just googled my name and found this review. Thanks for mentioning the book…it was so much fun to write. Sales were decent, but I’m taking the book off sale soon and tidying it up significantly. I’ve been working on an MFA in Writing Popular Fiction and know my writing has improved…I’m eager to make changes to EH and possibly resubmit it to editors in the traditional publishing world. I suggest you also get your hands on my A SCARY GOOD BOOK before I take that one off the digital shelves. People seem to like it even more than EH. Anyway, thanks again and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

