Marvelous Middle Grade Monday: The Golden Acorn

Middle Grade Author Shannon Whitney Messenger began Marvelous Middle Grade Mondays a while back. If you love middle grade literature, check out her blog for a list of other sites featuring MG books.

Today I’ll talk about The Golden Acorn by Catherine Cooper.

From Goodreads: Jack Brenin’s life changes the moment he finds a golden acorn lying on the grass. He gets caught up in an extraordinary magical adventure and enters a world he only believed existed in legend. He’s sure he’s been mistaken for someone else. He’s neither brave nor strong so how could he be “The One” an ancient prophecy speaks about? He’s no idea why he’s expected to help, unsure if he wants to, or even if he can.

From Vicki: This is a cute story for lower middle grade readers. There is quite a bit of adults telling Jack what to do and how to do it, and some characters who appear to be kids (or animals) but who are either adults in disguise or kids who’ve lived for hundreds of years. But the story is definitely centered on Jack and his journey to discover the hero inside. A-Read would like the fantasy world and the flying, but he’s not into reading books on my Kindle yet.

The Golden Acorn was independently published in 2009 and it won an award in Britain for unpublished novels. It is definitely among the better indies I’ve read.

What’s your favorite indie?

7 Comments

Filed under writing

7 responses to “Marvelous Middle Grade Monday: The Golden Acorn

  1. Catherine Johnson

    That’s such a simple concept, it sounds like a classic. I love the lesson about people trying to tell him things and I suppose he has to make his own mind up. I must read this, cheers!

  2. Nas

    The Golden Acorn sounds intriguing! Thanks for posting about it!

  3. I’ve had this on my Kindle for a bit, but haven’t read it yet. I’m looking forward to getting into it this summer.

  4. Hello and thank you for writing a review about my book.

    Just to let you all know there’s a website with lots more information, the latest news and extra pages to view.
    Camelin also has his own facebook page and for those who are too young to have their own page, I’ve posted all his entries onto his website pages.

    At the moment I’ve nearly finished book four.

    Kind regards
    Catherine Cooper

  5. Cute cover. Sounds like a good premise. Thanks!

    I haven’t read that many self published books from beginning to end. My favorite was Open Minds by Susan Kaye Quinn.

    • I ought to say to Theresa… I now have a publisher, who produced this edition, and they have a headline for me… ‘From self-published to Hollywood in 18 months’. It’s been quite a journey.

      Kind regards
      Catherine

Leave a Reply

