Marvelous Middle Grade Monday: Jeremy Bender vs. the Cupcake Cadets

Middle Grade Author Shannon Whitney Messenger began Marvelous Middle Grade Mondays a while back. If you love middle grade literature, check out her blog for a list of other sites featuring MG books.

Today we’ll discuss Jeremy Bender vs. the Cupcake Cadets by Eric Luper.

From Goodreads: When sixth-grader Jeremy Bender damages his father’s prized boat and needs to come up with a lot of money to get it repaired, he and his best friend dress up as girls and infiltrate the Cupcake Cadet troop in an attempt to win the Windjammer Whirl model sailboat contest.

From Vicki: I thought it would be fun to combine MMGM with A-Read’s Recs, which is a series based on the Book Talks my 8-year-old son writes for school. As you’ll see, he is not ready for publication, but he knows what he likes.

I was inspired to read this book because my mom said it was a good book.

The story takes place in a town like ours.

The main character in the book is Jeremy.

Here is how I would describe the main character: an average eleven year old boy that loves boats.

Another important character is Slater.

Here is how I would describe this character: an eleven year old boy that loves to skateboard.

The story is about when Jeremy and Slater enter the Cupcake Cadets so they can fix Jeremy’s dad’s prize boat.

The main problem is they have to get 3 caliber badges.

I liked this book because it was funny.

I did not make a connection while reading this book.

I would recommend this book to people that like funny books because it is funny.

I give this book 5 stars out of 5.

Here’s Vicki again: Well, part of the story problem is the boys needing to collect badges, but also the boys trying to pass themselves off as girls, and underestimating the abilities of girls. It would be interesting to know what he’d think of this book if he reads it when he’s 10.

A-Read is right about this being a funny book, though. Lots of funny moments, like when Jeremy and Slater bake a pie to earn a badge. This is actually a girl-empowering story that your daughters might like, too.

11 Comments

Filed under Reading

11 responses to “Marvelous Middle Grade Monday: Jeremy Bender vs. the Cupcake Cadets

  1. Alright. I’ve been so spoiled by seeing covers with MMGM features that I couldn’t help noticing…
    However, I could use some fun book right now so I’m checking out my library for a copy.
    Thanks for the recommendation 🙂

  2. I completely LOVE your son’s input on this review! And I always love me a character named Slater. May just have to check this one out. 🙂

  3. Boys having to pretend being girls? He he he. I could see LOTS of funny moments here.

  4. Catherine Johnson

    I like a funny one. Great review A-Read!

  5. I love these posts. It really helps me stock my classroom bookshelves with books the kids will have fun with. I can hear the kids giggling now over the boys pretending to be girls.

  6. That does sound funny! The premise alone sounds like it has a ton of potential.

  7. P.S. I just read your profile under your picture. It cracks me up!

  8. Excellent review by your son. Nice to hear from someone who is in the targeted age range.

  9. Great review by your son! I’m with Theresa here…it’s nice to hear from the targetted group audience. Thanks for your recommendation!

  10. Nas

    I loved the way your son reviewed this book. Thank you for recommending it.

Leave a Reply

