Top 10 Books I Read in 2011

According to Goodreads, I read 48 books last year. Frankly, I was surprised that number wasn’t higher. I think I may have missed a few. Anyway, here are my favorites (in reverse chronological order). The most recent 3 are middle grade and the rest are young adult. If I featured the book in a Read Through Thursday or Marvelous Middle Grade Monday post, then the link is embedded. The dates in parentheses are when each book was published, not when I read them.

The Strange Case of Origami Yoda by Tom Angleberger (Mar 2010)

Savvy by Ingrid Law (May 2008)

Elliot and the Goblin War by Jennifer Nielsen (Oct 2010)

Luminous by Dawn Metcalf (Jul 2011)

Divergent by Veronica Roth (May 2011)

The Demon’s Surrender by Sarah Rees Brennan (Jun 2011)

Red Glove by Holly Black (Apr 2011)

Darkness Becomes Her by Kelly Keaton (Feb 2011)

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver (Mar 2010)

Magic Under Glass by Jaclyn Dolamore (Feb 2010)

* If I do my top 10 YA books of 2011, I would replace the 3 MG books with:

Across the Universe by Beth Revis (Jan 2011)

The Liar Society by Lisa and Laura Roecker (Mar 2011)

The Shattering by Karen Healey (Sep 2011)

This was a tough choice. Several books vied for that last position. I learned quite a bit by looking at my list of books read. For example, I was definitely fantasy-heavy last year. I think I read more contemporary YA in 2010, which probably reflects what I was writing at the time. I’m happy to see a large number of debut books here, mixed in with a couple of sequels.

How many books did you read in 2011? Are you setting any reading goals for the new year?

11 Comments

Filed under Reading

11 responses to “Top 10 Books I Read in 2011

  1. Catherine Johnson

    Great list of books Vicki. I read 120 but a lot were pbs lol.

  2. There are definitely some books on your list I’ll be adding to my TBR list. I’m reading Origami Yoda right now. I’m starting Elliot as a read aloud in class next week. I have no idea how many books I read last year. I totally lost count. I’ve read 32 since September, when I started keeping track, and now I’m finally on Goodreads, so it can keep track for me in 2012. Did you sign up for the reading challenge?

  3. Hey Vicki,
    I try to read 50 books in an academic year, and I challenge the kids in my class to read 30. Divergent and Across the Universe were definitely high on my list last year. So many of your other reads are on my TBR list for this year. I’m just finishing Daughter of Smoke and Bone, and then onto The Inventions of Hugo Cabret. Origami Yoda is HUGE in my class right now.

  4. I really liked Divergent and Across the Universe. Before I Fall wasn’t my normal read, but the ending bent my brain for a few days. I’ve got The Scorpio Races to read soon–I keep hearing wonderful things about it.

  5. You almost read a book a week! That’s pretty cool. I can’t say I read enough this past year, with my stupid migraines and all it was probably the year I read the least. But I must have read my own books over 70 times and I read A LOT of books to my son. Does that count? hee hee

  6. Great list! Loved Divergent, Across The Universe and Before I Fall – haven’t read the others.

    I did a reading challenge last year, too – aiming for 100. I thought I’d make it easily because I feel like I read all the time, but I finished at somewhere in the high 70s low 80s (I didn’t end up writing every single thing down.) I guess I’ll have to try harder this year 🙂

  7. I have to hang my head in shame because there are books on your list that I was supposed to have read a while ago.
    Thanks for the reminder 🙂

  8. Divergent is on my TBR list, can’t wait!

  9. I really don’t know how many books I’ve read this year! Maybe I can go to Goodreads and figure it out… From your list, I’ve read DIVERGENT, SAVVY, and ACROSS THE UNIVERSE, and enjoyed them. I love the writing style of SAVVY, especially. Nicely humorous and creative. 🙂

  10. Hmmm, I’m going to check out Luminous…. curious about that one. I always love to see a few familiar books (Divergent, Across the Universe) on other people lists too.

  11. I was blown away by Before I Fall. It’s what made Delirium such a disappointment. I also would put Across the Universe in my top 10. I liked Savvy, but didn’t love it. I picked up Scumble (a companion book) and gave it to my daughter. Have you read it?

Leave a Reply

