Favorite Quotes from SCBWI Winter 2011

This is a repost from last winter, but as it gets colder and colder here in Upstate New York, I thought we could all use the reminders.

I had an awesome, inspiring weekend in New York City. I made some new writerly friends (Hi, Guys!  *waves*), and met some amazing authors.

Here are some highlights – I apologize if my quotes are not exact. I did my best to take faithful notes, but I also didn’t want to miss anything important by focusing on note-taking.

  • Picture books are the lynchpin of a child’s emotional beginning. Jane Yolen
  • “I’ve read 40 of your books and they’re so boring.”  From a letter by a child to R.L. Stine
  • Say yes to everything. You never know where it will lead.  R.L. Stine
  • Save the chaos and drama for your books. Sara Zarr
  • Fundamental difference between adults and kids is that kids are shorter. Mo Willems
  • Don’t believe in yourself. Believe in the work. Linda Sue Park
9 Comments

Filed under writing

9 responses to “Favorite Quotes from SCBWI Winter 2011

  1. my favorite quote: “Don’t believe in yourself. Believe in the work.” Linda Sue Park
    I hope you’re having a good winter (beginning?). 🙂

  2. LOVE these! Especially the save the chaos and drama for the books! LOL

  3. I’m suppose to meet some friends in NYC in March. It should be interesting. Sounds like you had a great time meeting new authors. 😉

  4. Catherine Johnson

    Love those quotes Vicki. Hope you are well 🙂

  5. My favorite has been the one by R.L. Stine ever since I read it on Twitter. Gosh, I hope someone says that to you and I one day!

  6. Haha! Those quotes just brightened my day. Thanks for sharing!

  7. I love number four. Just wish I could remember it when life goes into overdrive!

    Love
    Valentina x

  8. thanks for the quotes. I’ve read 40 of your books and they’re boring is by far my fav! Hahahaha

  9. Okay, you had me totally confused until I saw this was a repost! I didn’t think the winter conference had happened yet! I’m glad you put it up again, though. These were fantastic! I love that the kid read 40 R.L. Stine books and still said they were boring. How many would he have read if he had loved them?!? And saving the chaos and drama for your books? Fantastic advice!

Leave a Reply

