A-Read’s Recs

This is a new series based on the Book Talks my 8-year-old son writes for school. As you’ll see, he is not ready for publication, but he knows what he likes. And I think it’s great for us kidlit writers to read the opinions of our audience.

Jack Blank and the Imagine Nation by Matt Myklusch

I was inspired to read this book because my mom brought it home from the public library.

The story takes place in the Imagine Nation.

The main character in the book is Jack.

Here is how I would describe the main character: cool, smart, and awesome.

Another important character is Jazen.

Here is how I would describe this character: smart, cool, robotic, and nice!

The story is about Jack Blank who doesn’t know he has superpowers but he does.

The main problem is they can’t figure out what his powers are.

I liked this book because it had a lot of cool parts.

A connection I made while reading this book was I didn’t have one (despite many many notes).*

I would recommend this book to people who like superheroes because half the city are superheroes.

I give this book 5 stars out of 5.

*His teacher asks them to take notes while reading, about anything that occurs to them. He told me she calls it thinking about the book. So now all his books have multiple yellow sticky notes sticking out of them with notes like, “I’m amazed that Jack wanted to read Smart’s science books,” “Because Smart is asking where he was 137 minutes and 49 seconds ago,” and “Because Galaxis is giant space-port with aliens all over the place.”

7 Comments

Filed under Reading

7 responses to “A-Read’s Recs

  1. OMG I love that!! How adorable. 😀 That’s the best kind of review!

  2. It seems that smart and cool are quite desirable qualities to attract the MG reading crowd. Let’s all hope our own characters have those two enigmatic traits. I love A-Reads Recs!

  3. Oh, I wish he’d made a connection – all those notes! And how polite to the book too to write them on sticky notes instead of directly on the page like I do, bad me!

  4. That’s a great report for an 8 year old. I love it!! I like his character descriptions. 🙂

  5. I just love getting inside the minds of these young readers! And just goes to show what they look for- cool parts! lol I should have guessed! Your son is brilliant! Just inspired me to write more cool parts.

  6. Oh, this is too cute! What great encouragement for your son to both read and write!

  7. This type of review is PRICELESS! Your son did a great job 😀

Leave a Reply

