Thanksgiving Abroad

As you probably know, we celebrated Thanksgiving here in the States last Thursday. Now that the holiday has passed, I am reminded of the Thanksgiving I spent in France when I was in college. Our school put on a special lunch for us at a fancy-pants restaurant in Paris. And it was fine.

But my roommate (let’s call her Mary, for the sake of protecting the innocent) and I had other plans for the holiday. The weekend before, we had met two French guys, one of whom was half-American (we’ll call him John, to protect myself), and they invited us to have Thanksgiving with them and the family of the whole-French guy (I’ll call him Pierre). So, yeah, we cooked a Thanksgiving meal in the kitchen of a family we’d never met before. Did I mention I was in college?

In between classes, because Thanksgiving is not a holiday in France, and that lunch the college planned, Mary and I shopped for obscure ingredients like cranberries. That’s not an obscure ingredient here in the States – especially here in the Northeast. But it sure was hard to find in Paris. And we had to come up with recipes from our heads. Luckily, Pierre took care of the turkey. It was just a turkey breast, and I think it might have already been stuffed with something really frou-frou French like spinach and herbs. But it was at least one thing we didn’t have to worry about.

We had a lovely meal. Mary did an awesome job – she did most of the cooking and I helped where I could. Pierre’s family was welcoming and appreciative. John kept looking at me a certain way and putting his arm across the back of my chair – but that’s for another story and I think that we just won’t go there. Our French Thanksgiving was memorable.

This year, RocketMan made a Turducken and it came out great. We had a lot of food, but leftovers are part of the holiday.

What was your most memorable holiday?

9 Comments

Filed under The rest of my life

9 responses to “Thanksgiving Abroad

  1. O_o I tried hard and couldn’t remember a most memorable holiday. sorry. I do have a bunch of memories but they are scattered all over.
    Other than that though this post was fun to read. I enjoyed the playful tone behind it 😀
    And that Turducken maybe I should give it a try one Thanksgiving if life allows it. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Oh, how fun. I like those wacky, off-the-wall experiences. My family always had the huge get together and I really miss it, but we are 2000 miles away. I think our most fun in recent years was with Columbian neighbors (who have since moved) but we had a really fun mix because they brought their own cultural stuff to it, so it was a nice change (ending with flan even–yum!)

  3. Catherine Johnson

    Ooh la laa (but I won’t go there and let’s call him Pierre!) Geez you’re funny! This reminds me of the time we wandered into a fancy-pants part of Paris with very expensive shops and apartments above them and literally nothing else, no food shops for miles. We were so starving by the time we got out. 🙂

  4. You know….now we all WANT that other story! What a fun and memorable Thanksgiving! The BEST thing about my holidays are that so many are the same. My family (extended family-grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins, etc) are HUGE on keeping our traditions, so we do the same things every year. It’s the fact that the traditions are equally important to all of us that makes every holiday special! christy

  5. Love the story! You’re so daring. We love Thanksgiving in our family, too. My son came home from Florida this year to join us, and he said if we didn’t have a 14 course meal, it would be a waste of time! As always, we had plenty of food and plenty to spare.

    So how did you like the Turducken?

  6. Oh, Vicki, you naughty girl. You HAVE to go there. By the way, Turducken sounds amazing. I must admit I love Paris. Everyone looks so–well, gorgeous. And the French don’t seem to eat anything. Maybe just chocolate and cheese.

  7. Hahaha I’m with Valentina … you have to go there. How can you leave us hanging like that? I think Thanksgiving is always the same, clean, cook, eat, clean, chill with the family, eat, eat, eat. Rinse. Repeat each year. It’s that tradition that the kids love. ❤

  8. HAHAhahahahaha! Ah, to be young and foolish for just a moment. Thanks for making me chuckle.

  9. All I can say is, Vicki, I must be working really hard, and there’s a plate of fresh doughnuts waiting here for you.
    It’s a rare bird who can keep a secret. Good on you. Every girl needs a few secrets.
    I would love to meet in Paris and chat over a bottle of wine. There are some lovely cafes in the Champs Elysees, where we could watch the beautiful butterflies go by–and you could tell me everything!

Leave a Reply

