NaNo Update 3

So I had an interesting weekend. First I conquered Nano and then I finished my manuscript. Uh, yeah.

I CONQUERED NANOWRIMO!!

I have a complete draft of Rachel, which has already been shoved in a drawer until about February. Now I have so much else to catch up on, like revising Tzohar.

And of course there’s Thanksgiving. RocketMan is making a Turducken. That’s where you stuff a chicken inside a duck inside a turkey with 3 different layers of stuffing. Yes, he’s crazy that way.

I’m also looking forward to the long weekend with family and taking a tiny break from writing. I just started reading Libba Bray’s Beauty Queens, which I won from Julie Musil, Lisa Gail Green, and Leslie Sulli Rose. Thanks, Ladies! You rock!

And because Libba is one of the coolest cats and wittiest writers around, my book is signed thusly:

For the Illustrious Contest Winner –
(so very personal)
Clearly, you are superior. Congrats.
❤ Libba Bray

Clearly, I will cherish this book always. Last night I actually laughed out loud in bed (LOLIB?) when the Teen Dream contestant from Mississippi started spelling her state and had to give up. And then another character described the Vietnam War as the time “When the Vietnamese got kids hooked on drugs and we had to fight a war to stop it.” OMG, too funny. Okay, clearly, I think everyone should read this book. But only if you like to laugh. And read.

Whose signature are you most proud to have?

8 Comments

Filed under Reading, writing

8 responses to “NaNo Update 3

  1. Hurray! You conquered Nano indeed. Now you get to enjoy a fun week with family. Happy Thanksgiving and happy reading too. 🙂

  2. Gail

    Wow! Congratulations on both NaNo & finishing your MS!I’m looking forward to rdg. Beauty Queens. Have a great Thanksgiving! Turdunken sounds good!

  3. Catherine Johnson

    Congrats Vicki, that’s wonderful. I only heard of a Turducken this morning and here you are giving it to me again. How funny! Enjoy it sounds delicious.

    Between myself and hubby we have seen/got autographs of some amazing people. Hubby would say a signed copy of the auto-biography of the Australian rugby captain is the best.

  4. Congratulations on kicking Nano’s butt, Vicki! I’m so impressed! The signature/message I’m most proud of is an Australian author Nick Earls, who wrote ‘Good luck with the editing’ in The Fix, his latest book. He’s a really lovely guy who’s had amazing success but still takes the time to guide aspiring authors. Isn’t that wonderful? 🙂

  5. LOLIB! Hahahaha. That’s me right now.

    Wow! You are so busy. Great job on finishing another baby!

  6. Yay – congrats on conquering NaNo! I’m getting my butt kicked. I’m going to cut it close. I hope I finish this year. 😀

  7. OMG, that book is full of some doozies! I truly hope you enjoy it. And congratulations on conquering the NaNoWriMo beast!

  8. Glad you’re enjoying it!!! I’m most proud of Libba Bray’s signature. I will forever officially be “divalicious” now. ;D

Leave a Reply

