NaNo Update 2

As of last night, day 13 of NaNoWriMo, I have 35,032 words. I’m very pleased to be way more than halfway through the word count by this point in the month. The words continued to flow fast and furious until last Wednesday, at which time I had less time to write and a bit less inclination. Some of the inclination has come back, but my plot doesn’t make as much sense now as it did when I started. Sigh.

I think this is a fairly common occurrence in NaNo. And fairly common while writing any first draft. I will push through. I can always fix my structure later, during revisions. But I have to write what makes sense to me now, even if it isn’t what I plotted out several weeks ago.

Another complication is my head cold. Ugh. I just want to stay in bed all day and read. So today I will surround myself with tissues, tea, and soup, and push those words out, while also preparing myself (mentally, more than anything) for a French class this afternoon.

How is your month going? Have you had to change plans midway through?

8 Comments

Filed under writing

8 responses to “NaNo Update 2

  1. Ugh is sucks to be sick 😦
    I did change my Nano plan. I still don’t see myself quitting but I don’t see myself winning either. To make a steady word count I had to let go of my plot line and become a total pantser. 🙂
    You’re almost there you will finish. Take care!

  2. You’re doing great! And yeah… I am bad about changing plots a little mid-WriMo… This time, I have stuck strangely with the original plan, but then I have been thinking about this book for AGES. I am at 36K, but I now begin 1) son’s birthday week, then 2) thanksgiving, and it is all compounded by the fact I will SOON hit the 2/3 point where I historically slow down (figuring this novel will probably be 70K not 50K.

  3. Yipee! Keep it coming. Work out the kinks later!

    And plans? What plans I live the rockstar life, you know this. Lol.

  4. Catherine Johnson

    That is great Vicki. Shame about the cold. Good luck with your word count and your french lessons! (Don’t forget to email me your address sometime 🙂

  5. Wow, you’re doing great! I’m running behind and trying to catch up! Keep going! Yay! ❤

  6. The best laid plans…VB. Sounds like you’re going great. Shame about the cold. Try lemon, honey, 2 cloves and brown sugar. (and a little whisky if you’re into it). Mix with hot water and sip. Makes me feel better every time!

  7. Great job! I hope you feel better soon.

  8. Head colds suck! But I’m very impressed with your word count. You’re ahead of me and I’m editing, not writing. Awesome work!

    P.S. Hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

