A-Read’s Recs

This is a new series based on the Book Talks my 8-year-old son writes for school. As you’ll see, he is not ready for publication, but he knows what he likes.

Me Oh Maya by Jon Scieszka (The Time Warp Trio).

I was inspired to read this book because I’ve read the books in this series before this one.

The story takes place in Maya.

The main character in the book is Joe.

Here is how I would describe the main character: funny and kind of a magician.

Another important character is Sam.

Here is how I would describe this character: very smart, a little scared, and knows a lot. (Notice his use  of the Oxford comma!)

The story is about Joe, Sam, and Fred who time warp travel to Maya.

The main problem is they have to find the book to get back.

I liked this book because I learned some of the Maya counting system.

A connection I made while reading this book was that I wouldn’t want my head to be cut off.*

I would recommend this book to people who like this series, because they are really funny books.

I give this book 5 stars out of 5.

*His teacher asks them to take notes while reading, about anything that occurs to them. He told me she calls it thinking about the book. So now all his books have multiple yellow sticky notes sticking out of them with notes like, “Because Joe thinks the book is in the tree.” (Except that I made this one up. From now on, I’ll copy some of his yellow notes.)

5 Comments

Filed under Reading

5 responses to “A-Read’s Recs

  1. I love the Time Warp Trio. I can’t seem to get the boys in my class to love them as much as I do. Maybe I should have them read A-Read’s book report. 🙂

  2. This is great! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Catherine Johnson

    That sounds great for learning a bit of history too 🙂

  4. That’s so cool, and yay for good comma use! hehe

  5. Gail

    Excellent work! I love his comment “that I wouldn’t want my head to be cut off”! I’ll have to read these books. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

