NaNo Update

Last night I reached 20,067 words. Woohoo! I am lucky to have the time right now to write, which will not always be the case. Especially now that I have a new job with a foreign language center (we teach several languages to children and adults).

Writing a sequel has been an interesting experience. Obviously, I have never done this before. On purpose, I always avoided writing a sequel in case the first book did not sell. And if it weren’t for NaNoWriMo, I wouldn’t be writing Rachel right now, I’d be revising a middle-grade manuscript (now my December task).

When I first came up with the idea of a trilogy in which each of the three books had a different protagonist, I was actually going to try to do it all in one book. But I had too much to say. And now, the similarities and differences are really becoming evident.

Sophie travels back in time, Rachel travels forward. They each have experience with the same year in the past, however, 1895. Sophie had the good fortune of knowing a little bit about the past, as most of us do, to some degree. Rachel had never imagined our own time. So their reactions to the time periods in which they end up are quite different.

And while it has been fun to revisit the characters each book has in common, I’ve been enjoying the new characters the most. I can’t wait for my readers to meet Renard, for example. He has been the most fun to write, possibly of any character I’ve ever created.

So how is your November going? What’s new, my friends? Please share in the comments.

10 Comments

Filed under writing

10 responses to “NaNo Update

  1. Holy cow! Rock that WriMo!!! You really are making great progress! I wrote a trilogy at one point, but after the rewrite of the first, the next two need total overhaul and I haven’t faced it yet. I loved continuing the same story from a different angle. The location changes and the focus changes. I hope you really enjoy it!

  2. Congrats on your NaNo progress–that’s impressive!

    Your time travel stories sound totally intriguing, but then I’m a sucker for history. 🙂

  3. Your stories have always intrigued me, I can only hope they get into the right hands and get published.
    Congrats on the nano word count. Way to go!!!
    I can’t say the same for myself yet 😛

  4. Catherine Johnson

    Well done you! Everything is going so well for you, I’m so pleased for you. And I can’t wait to meet Renard!!!

  5. Great job girl! And still you found time to post us the good news!

    hmmm. Renard… as in like a fox. I like it.

  6. How exciting! That’s awesome progress, well done. And it’s great to hear you’re enjoying the process too. Your new job sounds cool. Good fodder for a future book, perhaps? 😉

  7. I love the concept of one person going forward in time and the other going back to the same place. Great perspectives and lots of fun! Have a great time.

  8. Hi VB! You won Wither over at my blog. I couldn’t find your email address, sorry to leave a comment here about that.

    Please email me at lydiaykang (at) gmail (dot) com so I can send the book to you. 🙂

  9. Congratulations, VB. Your stories sound so exciting. Would love to read more. Renard? Sounds lovely!

Leave a Reply

