Happy Halloween!

We’ve had a fun-filled Halloween weekend. Dances, parades, and parties. Oh my!

The boys each have a bag full of candy and have been in and out of their costumes several times. Hopefully today won’t be too anti-climactic for them. This afternoon they have class parties and a parade at school, before trick or treating tonight.

So, what is your favorite spooky read? I love Neil Gaiman’s Coraline. It may be the creepiest thing I’ve ever read. The expression “button eyes” has new meaning for me now.

My littlest ghoul likes Where’s My Mummy? by Carolyn Crimi and illustrated by John Manders. I don’t know what A-Read would pick. At the moment he can’t get his nose out of The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan (the last in the Percy Jackson series).

Share your favorite Halloween, ghost, or just plain creepy stories in the comments. And have a safe and fun Halloween!

9 Comments

Filed under Reading, The rest of my life

9 responses to “Happy Halloween!

  1. The kids in my class love to shiver and read Scary Stories 1, 2, and 3. The books are so worn the pages are starting to fall out. This year I read The Poisoned House by Michael Ford which was quite good.

  2. I loved Coraline too. The Graveyard book was spooky but not terribly scary. Love that one too.

  3. I’ll always love Arsenic and Old Lace. It’s a classic and my kind of humor!

  4. Catherine Johnson

    I love Coraline too, almost too creepy for the age group its written for. Or I’m just a big suck 😉 Happy Halloween!

  5. I should read Coraline–I love Gaiman. My favorite scary author is Peter Straub–mostly not for kids, but I read Ghost Story in 7th grade and loved it. My favorite though, was Mr. X.

  6. Wow, your kiddos have had a busy party/parade schedule. Happy Halloween! ❤

    Psst – NaNoWriMo starts tonight at midnight! Word Wars will commence!

  7. The kids LOVE Halloween! The parties,the dressing up, the candy!!! Fave scary book? The first one that popped into my head was a read from a long time ago: Rebecca. 🙂 christy

  8. Haven’t read Coraline…will add it to my pile. 😉

Leave a Reply

