One Week to Go

One more week until NaNo, possibly the biggest writing challenge I’ve ever undertaken. I have an outline, I know my characters, I THINK I’m ready. I’m not as ready as I usually am, but I feel okay about that. We’ll see what happens on November 1st.

Luckily, I’ve been living the life of a full-time writer for the past month and a half. Time is helpful for a high word count. I don’t know if that will continue through November (RocketMan hopes not). I have just applied for a job with a local language center and my toes are crossed (I need my fingers) that I’ll get an interview.

There is also a week to go until Halloween. A fun holiday, but a lot of work for parents. I don’t love this time of year. I don’t like to be cold, I don’t like the smell of decay, and I don’t sew. However, both boys have costumes and don’t need me to sew anything this year – thank goodness! I am ready to have some chocolate in the house (NaNo fuel!).

What do you need to help you through NaNo?

If you don’t NaNo (or write), tell me your favorite Halloween memory.

16 Comments

Filed under The rest of my life, writing

16 responses to “One Week to Go

  1. You’re going to do great! You probably already write the req word count each day already. Good luck!

  2. goodenoughfornow

    To get through NaNo successfully I would need a device that could magically stop time or add extra hours to the day!

  3. I think you are readier than I am, if that helps at all. I’m hopping to iron a few things out by next week-end before the craziness starts.
    About halloween, I’ve been able to avoid the drama so far since I personally don’t care much about celebrating. However my husband is already making plans for the little pumpkin next year… oh brother >.<

  4. Catherine Johnson

    Excited for you Vicki, good luck! I’m glad Halloween is on a Monday.I’m going to spend Sunday packaging up school and street treats. Hannah is wearing Matthew’s spiderman costume and Matthew has a new Superman costume. I’m trying to collect a witch outfir somehow. I have a purple wig. So long since I did it too, can’t wait!

  5. To help me through NaNo, I need my handy outline, friends to cheer on and cheer me on, and time. Time is a big factor and perhaps the hardest to have out of the three.

  6. Hope it all goes well for you, Vicki. I’ve signed up too, but beginning to think I may have bitten off more than I can chew. When I write, I fiddle with the words and I know I can’t do that. Someone’s even offered to ‘fiddle’ for me to make me feel better.
    Coffee is my drug of choice, but it plays havoc with my digestion. Still, if it keeps me awake long enough to write 50,000 words it’ll be worth it.
    Good luck

  7. Vicki, you won our SIGNED copy of Beauty Queens! Lisa Green, Leslie Rose, and I are so happy to let you know you won our Beauty Queens Extravaganza prize. Please email me directly at julie (at) juliemusil (dot) com with your address and we’ll get it shipped out to you. Congratulations 😀

  8. Gail

    Chocolate in the house is a great thing, especially organic dark chocolate, which helps me with my writing! Good luck with the language center!

  9. I love fall, but I can’t sew either! And as for Nano, I thought I was ready, even had a rough outline, but woke up in the middle of the night with a sparkly new idea. *sigh* I know which way I’ll end up. ;D

  10. Loved the crossed toes! You are right, we do need our fingers, esp. as writers! I don’t sew either but Goodwill and friends were kind to us this year for Halloween costumes (it’s daunting getting costumes for four kids!! But in the end, when I take the pictures and they all look so adorable, it’s worth it) (we don’t do scary/gory costumes).

    Anyhoo…. chocolate is a great help for NaNo, as that outline and those character sheets. I have a two page outline, which has been good enough for me in previous years, but I always feels a little anxious, like I ought to have more scenes mapped out.

  11. Not long to go now. Best of luck with it! I’ve never nano-ed and we don’t really celebrate Halloween in Australia so I can’t answer either of your questions. Maybe next year I’ll join you crazy Nano peeps. 🙂

  12. Congrats on winning BEAUTY QUEENS. I’ll get right on that mailing it to you! Halloween is the bane of my existence since I can’t resist the lure of the candy corn.

  13. I need to work hard to finish edits so I can participate. I guess we’ll see if I can pull it off. 😉

  14. Good luck! You sound ready. I’ll be cheering you on.

    I’m not a plotter. I’ve never been interested in NaNo. But maybe another year I’ll change my mind.

  15. Yay! Go you! (And good luck with the job!)

Leave a Reply

