Why I NaNo

For the first time, I plan to participate in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). I’ve had three kinds of response to this news.

One. Wha-?
Two. Why?
Three. Awesome! Good luck!

Here are some answers.

One. I will write at least 50,000 words of a novel (in my case, Rachel, the sequel to Sophie) in the thirty days of November. Thousands of other writers will be doing the same, and we will support each other and post our progress for all to see on the official NaNo website.

Two. Why not? I think it sounds like a cool challenge. It usually takes me about 3 months to write a first draft, but I’ve never had a deadline for it before. If Sophie doesn’t sell, I haven’t wasted the time because every writing experience teaches me something. And it’s only a month. I know enough not to send out that first draft to anyone. That draft will sit while I revise Tzohar in December and January, and then will be heavily revised and polished before it sees the light of day. Just like any draft.

Three. Thanks! I’ll need it!

So, are you a Wrimo? Why or why not?

11 Comments

Filed under writing

11 responses to “Why I NaNo

  1. Good luck! It’s a huge undertaking, so it impresses me that so many writers participate and succeed.

  2. I wrimoed last year and it was a blast. My writing buddies (in real life) want me to wrimo again to make at least one of my many months *hint* fly by super fast. lol
    We will see how that goes. Until then you can find me on the nano website under the same name “Akoss”.
    Oh and much luck to you 🙂

  3. Let me know your NaNo user name so I can make you a writing buddy. I have a rough outline for my project this year, but the characters aren’t developed yet, so I’m biting my nails and doubting (like I always do, this will be my fifth year) if I can make it work this time!

  4. Catherine Johnson

    That’s awesome Vicki, best of luck with it. I’m one of fewer words so I’m doing PiBoldMo.

  5. Yeah for Nano! I love it and I’m really looking forward to participating this year. 😀 Which reminds me, I probably have to go re-register.

  6. My timing is always off. Last year I did NaNoRevMo (revising) and I think I’ll be doing that again!

  7. Good on you! Good luck. I’m not doing it because I’m focusing on my edits for Tangled, but I admire anyone who does it! Can’t wait to hear how it goes. 🙂

  8. Good luck! I would love to do NaNo, but I’m caught up in revisions and really want to devote November to my ms. NaNo never seems to come at a good time for me. Maybe I’ll be ready to write a new one by June and then I’ll call my writing month Juno or something. 🙂

  9. I do, I do, and I love it! It’s so fun to do it as a gigantic group. Good luck to you!

  10. I’m in group #3. Awesome and good luck! I wrote my first novel during NaNoWriMo, which you helped me revise. I hope Rachel shines through in November.

Leave a Reply

