Catching Up

Life has certainly been interesting lately. And busy. My work-for-hire project took a lot of time and brain capacity, but the final manuscript was accepted by my editor and now I’m just waiting to see if I get another commission. *biting nails* *all the usual insecurities return*

In happier news, I just finished another draft of Sophie (FYI, this was a polishing round). I’m giving it a couple of days to steep before reading it to make sure my revisions make sense and didn’t screw up something else. (That’s one of the most common mistakes I see in self-published works, actually. Someone didn’t read through after making changes. So easy to fix. So frustrating to a reader.) How cool is it that I put Sophie through Mobipocket Creator to get the manuscript on my Kindle? It’s so much easier to read when I can take it with me everywhere (and it looks more professional than saving it as plain text). I’ll start querying agents soon. Ish.

A-Read has almost finished the Percy Jackson series. He took a break to read some other great books I found for him, thanks to being connected to this wonderful kidlit world (Emily Jenkins’s Invisible Inkling (he gave it 5 stars) and Nathan Bransford’s Jacob Wonderbar and the Cosmic Space Kapow – still reading).

And my little man, my brand new kindergartener, is just starting to want to read.  He is an awesome decoder, but doesn’t yet get the concept of sounding out.  He relies on his memory quite a lot.  They’ve just started learning sight words at school, so I think he’ll make quick progress.

So, what are you all up to?  Read any good books lately?

14 Comments

Filed under Getting Published, Reading, The rest of my life, writing

14 responses to “Catching Up

  1. Congratulations on your first WFH project and on getting that much closer to the end with Sophie! Yay!

    Isn’t it wonderful to see our children lost in books? Won’t it be even better when it’s our books? lol.

  2. I am so behind on my TBR list it’s embarrassing. I’m hoping to fix that soon. Congrats on getting this draft finished, yay!

  3. Congrats on all the good news! And L’shanah tova! I took a few days off as well. 😀

  4. Congrats on Sophie almost being ready, good luck with it!

  5. Catherine Johnson

    Well done, Vicki. Looks like things are going well. I bought 3 books today 2 Sophie Kinsellas and Linger. Really enjoying Another Whole Nother Story by Cuthbert Soup and then I must read Devil Colony by James Rollins.

  6. Busy lady! Congrats on your accomplishments.

  7. My Kindergartner is excited to start reading now, too. I love the look on their faces when they read for the first time. Congratulations on your editor accepting your manuscript. That’s great!

  8. Congrats on your writing progress!

    I just finished Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and really liked it. Reading Imaginary Girls right now – will have to let you know on that one.

  9. It must be so exciting being around new readers 🙂 I went and looked up Invisible Inkling just cos of the title – it looks very cute.

  10. Sounds like you’ve been productive.

    It’s so cool seeing a young kid learn to read.

    I just finished the audiobook of Skullduggery Pleasant, Book 1 with my daughter. It was a great mix of humor, action, and message. We loved it.

  11. Things are looking well for you! Smart idea to put Sophie through the MobiPocket Creator. But then, you always have smart ideas.

  12. I love the “soon” “ish” – I’m a very ishy person myself !

    I’m doing my usual trick – abandoning all efforts at editing to chase a beautiful new story idea.

    And reading too much, too (a lot of reading does not translate to a lot of writing). My kids sound similar to age as yours. But, unfortunately, not as into reading as much. Probably because they see me od’ing on it!

  13. Hearing about your little ones reading has me so excited for my 2-year-old (nearly 3). I know it’ll be a couple of years, but I can’t wait to see her reading 🙂

  14. Found your blog via Caryn’s and just HAD to comment on this post, because I also have a main character named Sofie (albeit spelled differently). Best of luck to you with querying 🙂

Leave a Reply

