Read-Through Thursday: Luminous

This is a series wherein I will discuss whatever book I’m reading or have just finished.  Feel free to post in the comments what you’re reading or your own thoughts about the books I discuss.

Luminous by Dawn Metcalf

From Goodreads:  As reality slips and time stands still, Consuela finds herself thrust into the world of the Flow. Removed from all she loves into this shifting world overlapping our own, Consuela quickly discovers she has the power to step out of her earthly skin and cloak herself in new ones-skins made from the world around her, crafted from water, fire, air. She is joined by other teens with extraordinary abilities, bound together to safeguard a world they can affect, but where they no longer belong.

When murder threatens to undo the Flow, the Watcher charges Consuela and elusive, attractive V to stop the killer. But the psychopath who threatens her new world may also hold the only key to Consuela’s way home.

From Vicki:  I almost don’t know what to say about this book.  In the beginning, reading it exhausted me.  I think because the world Dawn built is so different from anything else I’ve ever read.  My brain expended a lot of energy figuring it out.  As a result, the pace felt slower, giving the reader time to get used to the world and the writing style, which was beautiful.

But once the story really got going and I had become accustomed to the Flow, I couldn’t put this book down.  Here is a story about a strong, female character, who solves her own problems.  Sometimes she has help along the way, but that help always leads her to a new revelation, too.

And V.  Ohhh, V.  I liked him a lot.  He jumped off the page for me, as did Consuela.  Unusual setting, unusual plot, great characterizations – this is a lush and beautiful read.

8 Comments

Filed under Reading

8 responses to “Read-Through Thursday: Luminous

  1. I haven’t read any of Dawn Metcalf’s books, but she’s an author I definitely need to start reading! Nice post! 😀

  2. Gail

    Sounds great! Thanks for your honesty and good review.

  3. Thanks for sharing another great review! It sounds like something I would enjoy.

  4. Sounds like a unique story – not something you come across too often these days. I’m reading I, Coriander at the moment which is also very different and vivid. Interested to see where it goes…. Have you read it? 🙂

  5. I’ve heard Luminous is confusing. People seem to love it or hate it. Nice to know if I stick with the book, it pays off. Thanks for the review.

  6. Vicki Tremper

    I wouldn’t call it confusing, just different until you get used to the world. I can imagine that some wouldn’t like it, but I don’t get having such strong negative feelings for such beautiful prose.

  7. thanks for your sweet note 🙂

  8. Pingback: Top 10 Books I Read in 2011 | All the World’s in Words

Leave a Reply

