Work-for-Hire

I just got my first work for hire assignment.  Woo hoo!  But I don’t know what name to use.  Should I just use my real name?  Should I use a pen name?  A friend of mine who does a lot of this sort of freelance thing, uses a pen name for all of it, to distinguish it from the stuff he writes out of love.  And he doesn’t market himself at all for the freelance stuff, so it doesn’t matter. 

I think it’s a fairly common practice to use a different name for the freelance work that just pays the bills.  So then the question is, what name?

Just for fun, let’s come up with some possible pseudonyms for my freelance work.  What do you think?  What name should I use?  Here are some ideas to get the ball rolling (add your suggestions in the comments):

            Victoria Spelling (get it?)

            Tremper Vic

            Vicki Rocket

Well, I guess whatever name goes on that book-I’ll-never-hold-in-my-hands, it’s just pretty darn cool to be paid to write.  Right?

18 Comments

Filed under Getting Published, writing

18 responses to “Work-for-Hire

  1. My Cozy Mystery stuff is ‘for hire’ and the contract didn’t give me a choice–MUST on pen name (though they let me have a lot of input)–their thing was not wanting the same name to be out there on something that is really mismatched.

    When it is totally up to you I would make my decision on voice. Is the ‘for hire’ stuff related in genre and voice? If not, then yeah… probably use a pen name, as once a name is associated with a voice, then that is the voice expected with the name. I like the idea of using variations of your name, but changing it up to match the ‘flavor’ if you will… more girly if it is women’s themes, more gender neutral (maybe Vic) if is is more neutral.

  2. Catherine Johnson

    Congrats Vicki, that’s great news!

  3. Congratulations!!! I’m so happy for you.
    How about Vic Rocket?

  4. Congrats!! That’s awesome. Just make sure the name you use, you are happy with! I like the first one. 😀

  5. Congratulations, that is awesome. 🙂

  6. Gail

    It sure is! Congratulations! Work for hire postions look good on your writing resume. I vote to use your real name.

  7. Congrats! I vote for your real name too, unless you’re writing about a salacious topic, LOL

  8. Very cool!! Congrats on your coup. 😀 I love Victoria Spelling…hehe. Vicki Rocket is pretty funny too. How about Tori Rocket? Or Tori Tremper!

  9. Good for you! I’d just go with your real name if you can. Why not? *shrugs* It’d be nice to see your name out there, no?

  10. Yahoo! Congrats to you, Vicki! That’s totally awesome, regardless of which name you use!

  11. Yay! Congrats, Vicki! I have no idea on the name thing – I do like Victoria Sprelling, though! ❤

  12. Congratulations, Vicki. That’s very exciting. I agree with Hart – make your decision based on whether your for-hire writing aligns with your fiction. If not, use a pen name to differentiate your two ‘product lines’, so to speak. 🙂

  13. Congratulations on your assignment! That’s really cool. As for your name, you can always use a pet’s name or the street you lived on or your middle name or something. I do find it helpful to use the same first name, though. It’s too weird to go by an entirely different first name.

  14. I’m so happy for you! Since this post is a week behind, I hope you’re enjoying the new writing assignment. What name did you finally decide to use?

  15. Okay, embarrassed, but I don’t get Victoria Spelling even though I feel like it’s right on the tip of my tongue… Any way, I like the sound of it.

    What kind of freelance work?

  16. I’ve never done any work-for-hire stuff, but good luck with it! A fairly sober pseudonym probably sounds good, so I’d go with Victoria Spelling.

  17. congrats! what fun! i love coming up with names. victoria is one of my all time fave names, but i do like the idea of using tremper. Tremper Tory. Just curious where the rocket came from? :0) christy

Leave a Reply

