Read-Through Thursday: Divergent

This is a series wherein I will discuss whatever book I’m reading or have just finished.  Feel free to post in the comments what you’re reading or your own thoughts about the books I discuss.

Divergent by Veronica Roth

From Goodreads:  Beatrice “Tris” Prior has reached the fateful age of sixteen, the stage at which teenagers in Veronica Roth’s dystopian Chicago must select which of five factions to join for life. Each faction represents a virtue: Candor, Abnegation, Dauntless, Amity, and Erudite. To the surprise of herself and her selfless Abnegation family, she chooses Dauntless, the path of courage. Her choice exposes her to the demanding, violent initiation rites of this group, but it also threatens to expose a personal secret that could place her in mortal danger. Veronica Roth’s young adult Divergent trilogy launches with a captivating adventure about love and loyalty playing out under most extreme circumstances.

From Vicki:  I can’t relate to many of the choices Tris makes – I would probably have joined Amity or Erudite, which would have necessitated different choices anyway.  But I couldn’t put this book down.  The writing is spare yet powerful.  Tris’s story came through loud and clear and I felt every jab to the nose or kick to the kidneys, every rung of the ladder, every touch of Four’s hand.  I was so invested, yet I couldn’t relate.  How did Veronica Roth do that?

I don’t think of myself as being a fan of dystopian literature, but this book got so much buzz and so many rave reviews that I had to read it for myself.  I didn’t expect to like it as much as everyone else.  But I did.  I must jump on the bandwagon.

And I’d love to see this as a movie!

(And I just have to add – it really doesn’t feel like a Thursday, does it?  Ugh.  Next week we’ll all be back on track and all will be right with the world.  Please agree or I might…scream silently at my computer screen.)

11 Comments

Filed under Reading

11 responses to “Read-Through Thursday: Divergent

  1. Sounds an interesting concept. I enjoyed Hunger Games and Matched but there the only dystopian YAs I’ve read so far.

  2. It doesn’t feel like Thursday, more like Friday. I liked Divergent as well–had some issues with the world building, but overall it was great.

  3. Agree with you – definitely isn’t a Thursday feeling day! Wow – so interesting that you couldn’t really relate but you were invested anyway. That’s kind of how I felt about Katniss in the Hunger Games. The killer is that Roth is only in early 20’s I think – already so talented. Well, I’ve only read a sample chapter so far, but it certainly impressed me.

  4. I STILL have to read this book!! I’ve been wanting to forever, but haven’t had the opportunity yet. I MUST fix that.

  5. Catherine Johnson

    Wow, this is an excellent review Vicki. I’m not a great dystopian fan either but I loved this one. Just had to read it.

  6. I LOVED this book. LOVED.

  7. This was a great book–I felt the same way about relating to Tris, but it was fun to live vicariously through her.

    Happy almost Friday!

  8. Interesting! Not my genre at all, but it sounds like an intriguing tale.

  9. I like to read outside my usual genres. Nowadays I’ll pretty much read anything. hehe

  10. Pingback: Top 10 Books I Read in 2011 | All the World’s in Words

Leave a Reply

