Write On, WriteOnCon

By now I’m behind the times with this, but I still wanted to weigh in. WriteOnCon is a free online conference organized by a fabulous group of children’s writers and that has now occurred for the past two Augusts. Visit WriteOnCon to check out any or all of the posts from the conference itself, and for monthly events throughout the year.

Here are some of my favorite tidbits from this year:

On characterization:

Over the course of the novel, your job as a writer is to bring your characters’ wants and needs into alignment: in other words, they have to learn to want what they need. This ensures that your character will grow and change…

(Lauren Oliver, author of Delirium and Before I Fall)

… it’s the presence or absence of moments like these – moments that really matter – that make or break any story….The only reason we care what happens in a story is because we care about the characters. That’s where we get invested.

(Matt Myklusch, author of the Jack Blank series)

On promotion:

You can no longer rely on a publisher to supply these for you. Get creative! Consider designing bookmarks, postcards, posters, flyers, brochures, bookplates, downloadable coloring pages, games, teachers guides, mp3’s, t-shirts, note pads, balloons, crayons, pens, pencils, rulers, bubbles, stickers, craft items, toys, coloring books… anything related to the theme of your book, and the more kid-friendly, the better. These giveaway items … attract people to your table and speak for you long after you have gone.

(Emma Walton Hamilton, Bestselling Author, Speaker, Editor, Arts Educator and Literacy Advocate)

These pieces of advice really resonated for me. However, WOC was full of awesome advice from so many people. The live chat with Barbara Poelle and Holly Root was one of the funniest things I’ve read in a long time (you can read the transcript). I loved the chat with author Sarah Rees Brennan (of The Demon’s Lexicon trilogy). There were also vlogs from authors (like Lindsey Leavitt, who wrote Princess for Hire), editors (like Martha Mihalick), and agents (like Holly Root). Agent Sara Megibow did two live chats, one on self-publishing. And there were various forum events with agents, such as Alyssa Eisner Henkin, Christina Hogrebe, Jessica Sinsheimer, and others.

Seriously, my friends, this is just a tiny sampling of what WriteOnCon had to offer. It’s not too late to learn from the pros and gather inspiration for the long road ahead.

Write On!

11 Comments

Filed under Getting Published, writing

11 responses to “Write On, WriteOnCon

  1. Seriously awesome event. You can spend 10 minutes or 10 hours going through all of it and you’ll get something valuable out of every minute spent. Love the bit from Lauren Oliver too.

  2. Lisa Gail Green

    Such an awesome event put on by awesome people!! I still didn’t get to spend enough time there, but the coolest part is that it’s still there to check out when we want it.

  3. I think it’s awesome that such a cool event is available–it makes it easy for a lot of people to get to “go” to a writer’s conference. Glad you enjoyed!

  4. I didn’t get to attend as many WriteOnCon events this year, but luckily I can look them up now. 🙂

  5. I haven’t checked WriteOnCon out yet because I’m spending every spare minute editing, but I love that when I’m ready, it will be waiting. 🙂

  6. I still haven’t had a chance to hop over to see what they had there, but I keep meaning to. I think it’s because I know that if I get started I’ll never be able to stop. Still, perhaps it’s worth setting aside my writing for one afternoon to soak it all in? Maybe today. I have the link open. All I need is to make the time. Thanks for inspiring me to do so!

  7. I’ve yet to find time to sift through all the goodies at WriteOnCon, but I will get there eventually! Too good to pass up!

  8. Thanks! I was camping for most of the conference, so mostly I checked in to see what was happening in the writing forums and contest forums only. This is great stuff, though, so I’ll have to sift through the live conference and other info-filled “stuff” once life settles down. How’s query writing going? :0) I’ve come to a standstill (one word?) in my editing. Ugh! Christy

  9. Oh, that sounds like an awesome event! It makes me wish I was still working on my MG/YA stories. Maybe next year!

  10. Sorry I missed it! Sounds like an awesome event. I’m off to check out the transcript…

  11. What I love about this conference is that it’s all in the archives to peruse. The only downside is you don’t get to win any prizes (though I haven’t doing it in realtime either). And you don’t get to ask questions, though you get to read the chats a lot faster than in real time.

Leave a Reply

