Read-Through Thursday: Memento Nora

This is a series wherein I will discuss whatever book I’m reading or have just finished.  Feel free to post in the comments what you’re reading or your own thoughts about the books I discuss. 

Memento Nora by Angie Smibert

From Goodreads:  A teen struggles to hold onto her memories-and her identity-in a world that wants everyone to forget-and keep on shopping. Three dynamic teens come together to create a comic book of their memories.

I love Goodreads, but that description really doesn’t do this book justice.  Memento Nora by Angie Smibert is told by three different POVs:  Nora, the popular girl about to find out her life isn’t what she always thought, thanks to some sneakiness on the part of her father; Micah, the artsy, rebellious boy who has a crush on Nora; and Winter, Micah’s best friend who further opens Nora’s mind to the horrors the government would prefer its citizens forget.  People take little white pills to forget anything traumatic, and anyone who rebels against the system is detained, sometimes forever.

This is a surprisingly short read, especially for a dystopian, but the story didn’t feel unfinished.  I enjoyed the world-building, and the budding relationship between Nora and Micah.  I loved Winter’s grandfather.  Who wouldn’t love a grandfather who was part Spider Man, part peaceful vigilante (or does that still come under the heading of Spider Man?)?

If your parent or grandparent could be any superhero, who would you pick?

12 Comments

Filed under Reading

12 responses to “Read-Through Thursday: Memento Nora

  1. Wow. I’m intrigued! I never heard of this one before.

    And if I could transform my mother into any superhero – hmm…superman – she’s always trying to lift way more than she can handle.

  2. This sounds like a great read. Okay, it goes on my TBR list. 🙂

  3. Catherine Johnson

    Sounds very intriguing. I’ve only got my husband’s grandad alive and he is quite a character so I’d have him play batman.

  4. Sounds like a lovely read. I’ve got one grandpa alive, and he’s pretty super all on his own! He can touch his toes, still rides his motorcycle, etc., and he’s 84. hehe

  5. A grandpa that’s a superhero? Now that’s a little different! The premise of taking pills to forget trauma is interesting too. Adding it to my list…

  6. It sounds cool. I always thought my grandpa was Santa. That’s kinda super heroish eh? I’m marking this one down. thanks Vicki!! Way cool.

  7. Oh, I have to read this!!!!

  8. Haven’t heard of this one. Sounds really cool. And who needs little white pills to forget stuff when you have a mommy/writer scatter brain like mine?? Besides, seems like by forgetting unpleasant memories we’d lose a bit of what makes us unique as people and subtract from our inner character.

  9. Sounds a little like what our government would like us to do, eh? Spooky. I agree the blurb doesn’t seem quite adequate, though it sounds like a hard book to ‘blurb short’. Sounds like a very interesting read!

    And say… I have an award and meme for you today…

  10. I like Tanya’s idea of a grandpa who turns out to be Santa 🙂 Thanks for the book review~ sounds like a good one!

  11. The title of this book is so brilliant! It’s been getting good reviews so I’d love to read it.

  12. It would be groovy to be Batman’s son. You’d be wealthy AND have a kickbutt dad. :0) Plus think of all the cool stuff that would by lying around the house.

    The book sounds pretty awesome, btw.

Leave a Reply

