Query Resources (repost)

Having just drafted a query letter for Sophie, I thought others could benefit from the resources I used. I originally posted these resources in Winter 2010, when I had just rewritten the query letter for Kwizera, but I still swear by these resources and all the helpful query tidbits these links imparted. 

When you get published, you can thank me in the acknowledgements.

*An agent rips apart, I mean, gently critiques query letters sent in by writers, on the Query Shark blog.

*Advice from the queen of query letter advice, agent Janet Reid.

*More advice from agent Janet Reid who spoke about queries at a conference. Thanks to Kathy Kulig for sharing.

*Even more advice, this time on writing a 250-word query, from Janet Reid.

*Agent Nathan Bransford’s blog is full of great information for writers, including this on the anatomy of a good query letter.

*Young adult author, Elana Johnson, used to call herself the Query Ninja. Her blog still offers lots of advice on writing queries, and she offers her e-book From the Query to the Call for FREE (I have it).

9 Comments

Filed under Getting Published

9 responses to “Query Resources (repost)

  1. Great resources thanks! Good luck with your querying!

  2. I see a pattern here… Janet Reid… Yes! She’s a guru.

  3. so many good resources! I may have some new writers/queriers I know check out this post, thanks!

  4. I agree with Lisa. Janet Reid is a guru. Thanks for the links Vicki.

  5. Catherine Johnson

    Great one to bookmark, thanks!

  6. Ahhh, I love Query Shark. Janet tells it like it is!

  7. Wow, thanks for the links! I’m hoping to begin querying in September…

  8. oooh. Thanks for the links, Vicki. It’s nice to have them all in one place.

  9. I’ve bookmarked this post for when it comes time for me to query. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

