Read-Through Thursday: Dead Girl Walking

This is a series wherein I will discuss whatever book I’m reading or have just finished.  Feel free to post in the comments what you’re reading or your own thoughts about the books I discuss.

Dead Girl Walking by Linda Joy Singleton

This is the beginning of a series about Amber Borden, a high school student with ambition and drive.  Unfortunately, someone else’s driving mistake almost costs her her life.  Amber finds herself in a heaven-like place with her dead Grammy Greta and her dead dog, Cola.  Grammy gives her directions to get back to her body, and warns her about Dark Lifers, evil beings who suck the life force from people like her who will glow after her experience out of her body.

But Amber takes a wrong turn and wakes up in the body of the most popular girl in school.  Will Amber figure out how to get back into her own body before her body is harvested for organs to save others?  Can Amber save Leah, the girl whose body she currently inhabits?

I got sucked into this story very quickly.  I cared about Amber so early on, in fact, that I almost stopped reading before she “died” because I didn’t want anything bad to happen to her.  I’m glad I continued, though.  Amber’s attempt to save herself, her friends, Leah and members of Leah’s family was definitely worth the read.

I believe there are 2 more books in the series.

My discussion today, however, has to do with the fact that I read this on my Kindle.  As I said, the story was fine; but there were so many typos and missing words as to be distracting.  I really hope this phenomenon is specific to the Kindle version and isn’t in the print book.  So, why is the Kindle version so poorly executed?  How did this happen?  Do publishers think readers won’t care?  Do other electronic versions have the same problems?

Argh.

Okay, don’t let this dissuade you from giving the book a try, whether in print or in an electronic format.  Then come back and let me know what you think.

12 Comments

Filed under Reading

12 responses to “Read-Through Thursday: Dead Girl Walking

  1. I’m willing to guess it wasn’t done on purpose.
    I’ve added it to my list. 🙂

  2. Sounds like an intriguing plot.

    I wonder if the publisher uploaded the ARC by mistake. I don’t read ebooks so I have nothing to compare it to. But making an ebook wouldn’t create typos and missing words. I would assume paragraphs could be off kilter.

    You should write to Flux. I’m sure they don’t want a poorly edited product out there.

  3. Catherine Johnson

    Not my usual reading taste but then neither is Divergent and that is ace. Sounds really interesting. Is it in book form too? no kindle here.

  4. I have noticed slightly more errors in the Kindle versions, but not enough to trouble me. This book sounds really good! – intriguing tidbit about the glow after an out of body experience.

  5. This book sounds interesting! I’ve noticed more errors in Kindle versions of books, too. Mostly extra spaces and line breaks, things like that. Theresa made a good point about the ARC. The copyright page should indicate if that’s what it is.

  6. I’ve only read a couple books on my Nook and haven’t noticed an increase in typos, but I could definitely see that happening. I’ll be traveling next month and plan to read a lot, and only e-books so we’ll see what I find!

  7. Thanks for the tip, Vicki. I’ll have to check it out. Also, I tagged you! 🙂

  8. Now this sounds like a great book! I’ve always been intrigued by the title, but have yet to pick it up – you just sped up that process! Thanks!

  9. I’ve definitely seen an increase in typos. It is sad. The books sounds interesting. I’ll check it out.

  10. This sounds so cool. I need to stop coming over here, you just keep adding to my list of things to read and I can no longer see an end! hehe

    Of course, the typos are hopefully just an oops. They do make you wonder though.

  11. Never heard of this one. It sounds intriguing. Thanks for the rec.

  12. Interesting that people are noting more errors in kindle books! I’ll keep an eye out! Thanks for your help on my first 250 (again) on my blog! I appreciate your feedback, as always! christy

Leave a Reply

