Read-Through Thursday: The Notorious Benedict Arnold

Instead of talking about a book I’ve read, this week I’m going to crow about a book on behalf of my friend and critique partner, Steve Sheinkin. This week the Boston Globe-Horn Book Awards for Excellence in Children’s Literature were announced and Steve’s book, The Notorious Benedict Arnold, is a winner!

Congratulations, Steve!

Honestly, this couldn’t have happened to a nicer, more talented guy. 

Here’s the blurb from the publisher, Roaring Brook Press, an imprint of Macmillan, on The Notorious Benedict Arnold: A True Story of Adventure, Heroism & Treachery: Most people know that Benedict Arnold was America’s first, most notorious traitor. Few know that he was also one of its greatest war heroes. This accessible biography introduces young readers to the real Arnold: reckless, heroic, and driven. Packed with first-person accounts, astonishing battle scenes, and surprising twists, this is a gripping and true adventure tale.

Among the accolades:

Starred reviews from Kirkus, School Library Journal, and Horn Book Magazine
A School Library Journal, Best Children’s Books of 2010
And now the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award

I don’t know if I’m allowed to talk about his next book, due out from Roaring Brook in Fall 2012, so let me just say that I have read bits of it and it will be amazing.  Steve has a way of building tension and excitement even when we already know the outcome.

Okay, what are we all waiting for?  Go out and get The Notorious Benedict Arnold!

7 Comments

Filed under Reading

7 responses to “Read-Through Thursday: The Notorious Benedict Arnold

  1. Great opportunity for me to learn more about American history and have fun doing it.
    Thanks for sharing this with us. 🙂

  2. I’m so curious, it looks like a great read! It’s so great when an author can turn nonfiction into a page turner.

  3. Wendy

    Makes me wish I was still teaching US history! Will definitely pass the word on to US teacher friends. As teachers, we are always looking for ways to make history come alive. This one sounds like a winner for sure!

  4. This looks great for my daughter in a few years–right now she’s obsessed with the Civil War and Abraham Lincoln. Yay for history!

  5. I absolutely cannot wait until my daughter reaches this reading level~she’s two, so it could be a few years 🙂 . This book looks like everything a biography for children should be. Congrats to Steve and thanks for posting!

  6. Oh wow! It really does look awesome! And YAY Steve!! Congrats, and good luck on the next one. And I must say, great cover.

  7. Catherine Johnson

    I love it when you can mix real life stories with a great plot. Congrats Steve, the book sounds brilliant!

Leave a Reply

