Friends

Today you can read yet another interview of me, by my good friend, Tanya. This post of hers absolutely blew my mind. You’ll have to go see it to understand. Tanya is an amazing person, an amazing mom and an amazing writer (and yes, Tanya, I have those conversations with you in my mind, too).

This is now my 4th interview, all from writers I “met” during the Blog Crusade hosted by Rachael Harrie. I took a chance and put myself out there and it has paid dividends.

As I mentioned last week, I have gained writing-bloggie friends and critique partners and beta readers. This is as good a time as any to send virtual shout outs to the people who have recently critiqued all or part of Sophie (in the order in which they read it):

Suzanne Lilly
Eric Etkin
Gail Aldous
Steve Sheinkin
Tanya Reimer from Life’s Like That
Christy from erica and christy
Catherine Johnson
Laura Diamond of Diamond, Yup Like the Stone

These are all talented writers, following a similar path to my own. We are all on the journey to publication (except for Steve who has been living the dream for some time now) and we are very lucky to have found some support and friendship. There are others who have helped me in some way (you know who you are). I’ll honor them another time.

Now for an update. Sophie is steeping, having recently gathered critiques. I am reading, critiquing, and helping another friend with a new project.

Who are you happy to share a journey with (whatever that journey may be)?

11 Comments

Filed under writing

11 responses to “Friends

  1. What a great team you have there! I’m just building my writing team, you know, since I only came out of the writing closet a few months ago, and the first thing I did was a crusade I’m still recovering some. hehe. But my team rocks too! Thanks for being at the top of my list.

  2. A great circle of writing friends! Good luck with the book 🙂

  3. Friends are indeed invaluable 🙂

  4. Congrats on all the positives!!! I find all my writer friends and tweeps an incredible source of inspiration. I don’t know what I’d do without every one of them.

  5. Laura is a good bloggy/writer friend of mine too. 🙂 What would we do without our friends?

  6. OK first off love those mitts…They rock….Second, your interview was fantastic….

  7. Wasn’t the crusade amazing? We’ve all met such amazing people. I wish you lots of luck on Sophie’s revisions. And now I’m clicking over to the interview 😀

  8. Catherine Johnson

    I’m happy to share this journey with you Vicki! Thanks so much, going off to read your interview.

  9. I wish I had joined that Crusade, but I just missed the sign up time. I love our community of writers, we’re such a supportive group. I’ve found my writer friends through blogs, blogfests, and contests . My critique partners I met during NaNoWriMo. We encouraged each other to finish our novels on time and we continue encouraging each other now. 😀

  10. Aww, thanks for the shout out. I really like SOPHIE! Can’t wait to see it in the bookstores! 🙂

    Certainly, the writing community plays a huge role in me continuing on and persevering. Thanks for all your help and support!

  11. I’ll check out the interview.

    I’ve been sharing work for over a year with Aubrie Dionne. She’s helped strengthened my manuscripts, and I’ve enjoyed reading hers. And Judy Mintz used to be an editor, so her skills helped me get two short stories published. Let’s see if she can work the same magic on my most recent manuscript!

Leave a Reply

