Balancing Act

Did my life really get busier in the past few months or does it just somehow feel that way?

My children’s social calendars, school and extra-curricular activities. Yardwork, now that we bypassed spring and have landed squarely in summer. Social Media. Critiquing. Writing.

It doesn’t sound like that much listed that way. Under critiquing I should add that I’ve had the honor and pleasure to make some new critiquing friends in the past few months. Last week I gave critiques to 3 different friends.

The good news is that I finished a draft of Sophie and sent the first 5 chapters to 2 critiquing friends. I guess I should send them more, so we can move this process along, right?

On a different note, the awesome JC from J.C. Martin, Fighter Writer posted an interview with me on Wednesday. Check her out and say hello.

Does anyone else feel like life has become closer to overwhelming these days? How do you balance all the disparate elements of your life? Any tricks to pass on?

14 Comments

Filed under The rest of my life, writing

14 responses to “Balancing Act

  1. Yes life is hectic and I don’t have kids to add to it! Finding time to write with a full time job is a nightmare!!

  2. Yikes!
    I fail at balancing. At the most I set priorities and make a bunch of to do lists or I schedule everyday to make sure I get to what I need to get to.
    But I have no kids so, in my opinion you’re doing pretty good. 🙂

  3. I totally am feeling EXACTLY what you are. Man, what IS that?! It started before A to Z, I think, but it has all fell out of control… work, home, writing…

    Good luck getting it under control! And well done on getting your draft done. I tend to send the books out as a whole anymore. It is a lot to ask, but I ask it less often.

  4. No advice – I’m so overwhelmed on I’ve been on the verge of giving up for weeks now. But it may help that we finally have some warm weather here at this ridiculously high altitude. So you left some hints about where you live – sounds touristy if the population grows that much over summer. I’m guessing- Maine? Do tell.

  5. My life was an absolute blur until school ended. It’s taken me two weeks of being off to realize I don’t have to do anything if I don’t want to. Well, that’s not quite true–my daughter still keeps me hopping.

    I hope things slow down for you!

  6. I think some days I wish I need another me to get all the work done..There is never enough time…

  7. Catherine Johnson

    I here you. I couldn’t just let the kids do whatever while I write all day. I try and get up earlier than them but I can’t write that early, I do that in snatches through the day. Evenings are a bit crazy here. Luckily I now have Thursdays free ish so I can catch up a bit then. I think as long as you can do a little bit every day it all adds up. And really what’s the rush? Send some more when you’re ready too 🙂

  8. The moment June hit, it felt like the days started sprinting. Summer is going to be one crazy ride! Hope it calms down a bit so I can get everything I want to do done. ;D

  9. Heck with it. I gave up balancing it and just have fun. I don’t have time to waste on things that makes me grumpy, or that I don’t enjoy. This means, 9 times out of 10 I say no, I ask for help from my family, and I turn work into play time. Good news, if I make time for you, you’re on my fun list!! Yay!

  10. Yep, my life got way more hectic recently too. I don’t know how I’m going to handle it–just one day at a time, I guess!

  11. Definitely – right now my life is kinda scary full-on, but in a good way at least. 🙂

  12. May and June are the busiest months for me. I just write it all down and try to get enough rest. Sorry, no tricks.

    Please visit my blog. You question was answered by Elana Johnson!

  13. Ha ha! You already know I’m having trouble balancing it all. BUT I’m proud to say I’ve made some progress the last couple of days. I’ve managed to not ONLY do some writing stuff, but also paid bills, looked into a big event I’m SUPPOSED to be planning, and spent time with the kids. Oh and prepped for the end of the year, which is surprisingly no small feet….

  14. *raises hand* Yup. Overwhelmed. Wish I had all the time in the world to write, but reality does have its demands. The only remedy I can find is to simplify. What is absolutely necessary, and what is just fluff? Back to the basics, eh?

Leave a Reply

