Read-Through Thursday: Red Glove

Yeah, I’m back!  (And revision is still going strong.  I’ve read-through and revised 5 characters so far.)

This is a series wherein I will discuss whatever book I’m reading or have just finished.  Feel free to post in the comments what you’re reading or your own thoughts about the books I discuss.

Red Glove by Holly Black

Over the weekend I finished Red Glove, the second book in the Curse Workers Trilogy, following White Cat.  If you like YA fantasy, you should read these books.

Black creates a richly detailed world very much like our own (so does that make this Urban Fantasy?), yet so different.  Curse Workers are people with special abilities and their “Work” was outlawed many years ago.  A mafia like series of family-based organizations formed.  And because curse work is transmitted by skin to skin contact, everyone must wear gloves all the time.

Can you imagine having to wear gloves all summer?

The Curse Worker books mix the politics of a minority, boarding school intrigue, con men (and women), crime families, family drama, and a Romeo-and-Juliet-like romance.

I actually can’t tell you much about Red Glove without giving away all of White Cat.  I can tell you that both books are page turners set in a world you won’t soon forget.  I can also tell you that the main character, Cassel Sharpe, is a hottie you wish you could actually know.

Just go read it.

What are you reading this week?

16 Comments

Filed under Reading

16 responses to “Read-Through Thursday: Red Glove

  1. Oh! Vickie! Now I can’t wait for my WIP to be done… 😄
    After reading this I want to read White Cat and Red Glove like NOW. Unfortunately I’m one of those who can’t read and first draft during the same time period. I’m adding it to my goodreads and starting a count down to a finish draft in July so I could go back to reading. 🙂

  2. Oh cool! Sounds like my kind of read. I just read Hunger Games and anxious to finish the trilogy. SO so good!

  3. i LOVE this book, well, it sounds like i’ll love it. i tend to shy away when a book is fantasy, but urban fantasy and what you’ve described sounds right up my reading alley. (only, i REALLY have to wait until solstice and wip#2 are DONE!) wow, you’ve revised five characters! you’re amazing! christy

  4. Sadly, I haven’t read any Holly Black. I have to put her books on my TBR list!

  5. That sounds awesome! Holly Black’s a cool lady. I haven’t read the first book but it is on my long TBR list.

  6. Sounds like fun reads – I’ve been wanting to read them, but I’ve been busy with my literary club choices and critiquing my critique buds’ stuff. I can’t wait for the lazy days of summer to just have time to read. Thanks for the review! 😀

  7. Gail

    I love Romeo & Juliet stories and my daughter, Meg likes fantasy. Thanks for the good review. We’ll have to try Red Glove. Meg read and liked North of Beautiful by Justinia Chen Headly and kept telling me,”Mom you have to read this. You’ll like it.” And I do. North of Beautiful is a YA contemporary/realistic novel that has good voice and lots of metaphors, which I love! Well crafted characters and plot that makes a emotionally moving and satisfying story about self-discovery, family, verbal abuse, love and beauty. I don’t want to stop reading.

  8. Oh wow, another great recommendation. Thanks Vickie!

  9. I think I just ordered “White Cat” in my latest mass acquisition from Book Depository. hehehe

  10. Sounds fun!

    I’m reading Elizabeth I by Margaret George. Still. It’s huge but a fun one too!

  11. I just started White Cat yesterday. Now I’ll have to hurry to get to Red Glove.

  12. Haven’t read this one…

  13. Thanks for the book tip! It’s going on my TBR pile 🙂

  14. Huh! I haven’t heard of these books! Thanks for letting me know about them. I’m currently reading THE STORY BOOK by David Baboulene.

  15. Pingback: Top 10 Books I Read in 2011 | All the World’s in Words

Leave a Reply

