Read-Through Thursday: Across the Universe

I would just like to mention that today is the 17th anniversary of the start of the Rwandan genocide.  The people of Rwanda continue to tug on my heart and memory.

Back to the usual business:  This is a series wherein I will discuss whatever book I’m reading or have just finished.  Feel free to post in the comments what you’re reading or your own thoughts about the books I discuss.

Across the Universe by Beth Revis

This genre-bending novel combines science fiction, mystery, romance and dystopian. 

Amy and her parents are cryogenically frozen to be carried on a spaceship and believe they will wake on a new planet three hundred years in the future.  But 50 years before the spaceship’s scheduled landing, Amy is violently woken from her frozen slumber.

Now she is caught inside a tiny world led by a tyrant, and aided by his teenage heir, Elder.  Amy desperately wants to trust Elder, but should she put her faith in a boy who has never seen life outside the ship’s cold metal walls?  All Amy knows is that she and Elder must race to unlock the spaceship’s secrets before whoever woke her tries to kill again.  (The above two paragraphs are a paraphrased version of the inside flap.)

The story is told in alternating chapters by Amy and Elder, is well-written and suspenseful, and has epic qualities.

My husband is a huge sci-fi fan, but I am not.  So the mere idea of reading this book filled me with a mix of emotions.  I wanted to like it, for his sake and because I’d followed Beth Revis’s journey online (and she once made really awesomely complimentary comments about an anonymous excerpt of Kwizera).  But…I’m not a sci-fi fan.  I don’t read science fiction.  I don’t watch science fiction on TV and in movies.

Let me not keep anyone in suspense for any longer than necessary.  I loved it!  As I said above, the book was written well and kept me in suspense.  The suspense didn’t just come from the alternating chapters, it flowed naturally from the narrative.  The clues were doled out perfectly, and there was a final twist that I wondered about at one point and then promptly forgot as I got lost again in the story.  The science seemed solid – to my unscientific mind – but didn’t overwhelm the story either.

A great mix of genres, a great story.  Go read it!

13 Comments

Filed under Reading

13 responses to “Read-Through Thursday: Across the Universe

  1. This really is a great book!!!

    So sad about Rwanda…

  2. Thumbs up for this book. It was indeed GREAT!

  3. I really liked Across the Universe too- it was a great read!

    I show my students Hotel Rwanda- it’s a good intro to 20th century genocides, most of which they have no clue about.

  4. It’s on my “to-read” shelf 😀

  5. I loved it too! (but that doesn’t mean much, since I am a SF and fantasy fan) But I think a lot of none SF people would like this book, so I’m glad you are providing proof to my theory.

    So neat that Beth commented on an excerpt of yours once. Even if it was anonymous. I visit her blog occasionally – I should more often. I love her topics.

  6. Okay, I might be showing my age here, but this line reminded me of Buck Rogers. 🙂
    “Amy and her parents are cryogenically frozen to be carried on a spaceship and believe they will wake on a new planet three hundred years in the future. But 50 years before the spaceship’s scheduled landing, Amy is violently woken from her frozen slumber.”
    Sounds like the kind of read I’d really enjoy. Thanks for sharing.

  7. I just finished that book too! I loved it. 😀

  8. Gail

    I haven’t read Across the Universe, but it sounds good. Thank you.
    However, I did read Mockingbird ( mok’ing-burd) which is a great MG novel about 10 year-old Tess, who has Asperger’s syndrome. Tess is dealing with her grief of her older brother who was shot in a school shooting. Great voice and very emotional.

    Another great book about a teen who has Asperger’s is Mindblind by Jennifer Roy. Great voice and coming of age story. Roy’s writing gives the reader great insight into the mind of a teen with Asperger’s. Both great books for teachers, parents, friends of anyone who knows a child who has Asperger’s or for anyone who doesn’t!

  9. Oh interesting. I am a hesitant Sci Fi reader because I don’t like technical stuff much, but layering those other genres makes this sound interesting to me, too.

  10. One of the great things about Across the Universe is that it’s very accessible sci-fi. I think she did that very well.
    🙂

  11. Lisa Potts

    I liked this book too and I’m also not a big SF reader, but the MCs pulled me right in.

  12. It is truly sad about Rwanda. I don’t understand the atrocities that can happen in this world.

    I didn’t read what you wrote on Across the Universe because I’m about to read it and I didn’t know if there were any spoilers. I’ll have to come back to it once I’m done.

  13. Pingback: Top 10 Books I Read in 2011 | All the World’s in Words

Leave a Reply

