Young Middle Grade Boy Books

Today’s post comes from the me that is a mother as well as a writer.  The proud book-loving mama.

My older son has become an avid reader in the past year or so.  He is currently in the middle of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, which he can barely put down long enough to play Legos or Wii, or go to school.  The rest of the family eagerly awaits the completion of this book so we can all watch the movie together.

In case you’re interested in what a 7- (almost eight) year old boy is into reading right now, below is the list of his recent reads.

Alvin Ho: Allergic to Girls, School and Other Scary Things by Lenore Look

The King and the Calico…in Paris by Brooke Rousseau

The Name of this Book is Secret by Pseudonymous Bosch

Diary of a Wimpy Kid series up to #3 by Jeff Kinney

Magic Tree House series up to #41 by Mary Pope Osborne

The Time Warp Trio series up to #8 by Jon Scieszka

Shark vs. Train by Chris Barton

Awaiting his attention are:

If You’re Reading This, It’s Too Late by Pseudonymous Bosch

How to Train Your Dragon by Cressida Cowell

Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan

I keep a list of books to suggest to him, too (like Pickle Impossible by Eli Stutz, Hereville-How Mirka Got her Sword by Barry Deutsch, The Wee Free Men by Terry Pratchett), for when he runs out of ideas of his own.

What are your kids into?

19 Comments

Filed under Reading, The rest of my life

19 responses to “Young Middle Grade Boy Books

  1. What an impressive list he has. Can’t wait for The Child (my son) to crack open a book. These days his time is divided between Dora the Explorer and Danables yogurt.

  2. Kids are so lucky to have Harry Potter to read now! I’m glad he’s reading and ignoring his computer, best way to be 🙂

  3. My nine year old finished the Harry Potter series several months ago and he loved them! I love being able to chat excitedly over plot point and scenes with him. It’s so fun!

  4. Great list – I love reading middle grade with the kids. There’s so many adventures out there to enjoy. 😀

  5. The Time Warp Trio is one that I’m definitely interested in. 🙂

  6. My 9 year old likes books like: The day my butt when psycho trilogy and Diary of a Wimpy kid. Basically, anything gross or funny. That’s what he likes but he is reading and that’s what matters most. Great list of books. I’ll have to suggest some to him.

  7. If you’re reading this, it’s too late–GREAT TITLE, LOL!

    Nice list…I’m gonna have to check some of these out myself! 😉

  8. Your son is awesome! 😀

  9. I was at HP world today! 🙂

  10. Great list! I’m reading the Civil War Magic Treehouse book to my daughter, or will be next week when we go to Gettysburg. I haven’t read Harry Potter yet- I’m saving those until she’s old enough for us to read them together.

  11. Fablehaven by Brandon Mull would be good for him as well. 🙂

    LOVE BOOKS!

  12. Gail

    He has awsome taste. My daughters loved Magic Tree House books and love Diary of a Wimpy Kid books. I love Lenore Look’s books. My girls have also liked the Trading Faces series about MS twins by twin authors Jennifer Roy & Julia Devillers. They have also enjoyed The Good Dog by Avi, The Tiger Rising and Because of Winn-Dixie both by Kate DiCamillo.

  13. Sadly, my daughter doesn’t have the writing bug as bad as I do. But, she loved Beautiful Creatures and the Vampire Diaries series.

  14. My 13-year-old stepson doesn’t read for fun, although he made an exception for The Hunger Games books. My 15-year-old girl reads just about anything, from The Kite Runner to dystopian YA books. She’s really into the dystopian lately 🙂 My 2-year-old favors Dora the Explorer books.

  15. What excellent readers you have! My sons (11 yo twins) love the Wimpy Kid books and A-Z Mysteries. My oldest son, 14, has moved to YA and some adult novels. Next up on his list–The Hunger Games.

  16. My daughter is in sixth grade and has read practically all those – she and all her friends are now into the Warrior books – even the boys read them. She probably reads them on average in two to three days – can’t put them down. They’re addictive. She also loved the Septimus Heap (don’t trust my spelling on that one) series.

  17. Great list! Very interesting to see it range from the younger (Shark vs. Train) to much older (Harry Potter). My oldest is just learning to read, and I can’t wait until he discovers that magic of getting lost in a good book. 🙂

    • Vicki Tremper

      I brought Shark vs. Train home for my little guy, who loved it. The older one happened to walk into the younger one’s room while we were reading. He plopped himself down and listened. Then the next day, he read it to his little brother. Then he declared it the best book in the whole world (or words to that effect), which I tweeted to the author, Chris Barton, who tweeted back that my son was the best book reviewer in the whole world (or words to that effect).

      Book people are the best!

  18. This is a great list for boys slightly younger than middle school. Thanks for posting it!

Leave a Reply

