Read-Through Thursday: Before I Fall

This is a series wherein I will discuss whatever book I’m reading or have just finished.  Feel free to post in the comments what you’re reading or your own thoughts about the books I discuss.

3/3/11:  Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

Sam Kingston enjoys high school popularity with her three best friends and her cool, lacrosse-playing boyfriend, until the night she dies.  But then she wakes up in the morning on the same day.  She lives that day over and over again for a week, searching for the right combination of actions that she hopes will save her life.  Over those seven days she learns a lot about herself and love and why she died.  With each successive do-over we learn more and more about Sam and her best friends and her boyfriend and her family and the girl everyone calls Psycho and the boy she wishes she had more time with.

This book is beautifully written and so powerful.  Despite its heft (more than 400 pages!), I couldn’t put it down and it left me crying two nights in a row.  I couldn’t help wondering if my writing will ever make anyone (other than me) cry. 

Despite the negative things we learn about Sam, we root for her and feel for her and want her to find a way through.  This book was an emotional roller coaster and I couldn’t help being along for the ride.

Side note:  my friend who is a high school librarian says they can’t keep this book on the shelf.  It is so popular and students rave about it.

10 Comments

Filed under Reading

10 responses to “Read-Through Thursday: Before I Fall

  1. This sounds like a really good book. Thanks for sharing.

  2. This is going on my TBR Pile. 🙂

  3. I just bought Delerium…I’m gonna have to get this one too!

  4. That book is definitely on my to-read list. I just finished INCARCERON which I will review on my blog Friday. I love books. LOVE LOVE LOVE them.

  5. I agree, the writing is lovely. I disliked the MC and her friends greatly, but the writing was strong enough that I still loved the book.

    Have a lovely weekend, fellow crusader,
    Lola

  6. Gail

    Before I Fall sounds great! I love books that are so powerful they make me cry. My thirteen-year-old daughter just finished reading If I Stay by Gayle Forman. This was late last night. When she finished she was crying and said, “Wow.” Each night she was reading, If I Stay I had to tell her to put it down and go to sleep. Luckily, when I read it no one told me I had to go to sleep because I didn’t want to put it down either.

    IF I Stay by Gayle Forman is about seventeen-year-old Mia, who plays the cello and has a boyfriend in a rock band. This powerful book is about family love, first love, and the difficult choices one has to make in life. If I Stay grabs you from the first sentence and by page sixteen you can’t put it down. Make sure you have a box of tissues near you.

  7. Left you crying two nights in a row??? Ooo, I’m putting it on my list right now (I wonder if my library has it–hope so!).

  8. Wow sounds like a good book. I usually don’t like reading books that make me cry because I get so involved with the characters that it puts me in a funk for ages afterwards.

  9. Pingback: Top 10 Books I Read in 2011 | All the World’s in Words

Leave a Reply

