Favorite Quotes from SCBWI Winter 2011

I had an awesome, inspiring weekend in New York City.  I made some new writerly friends (Hi, Guys!  *waves*), and met some amazing authors.

Here are some highlights – I apologize if my quotes are not exact.  I did my best to take faithful notes, but I also didn’t want to miss anything important by focusing on note-taking.

  • Picture books are the lynchpin of a child’s emotional beginning.  Jane Yolen
  • “I’ve read 40 of your books and they’re so boring.”  From a letter by a child to R.L. Stine
  • Say yes to everything.  You never know where it will lead.  R.L. Stine
  • Save the chaos and drama for your books.  Sara Zarr
  • Fundamental difference between adults and kids is that kids are shorter.  Mo Willems 
  • Don’t believe in yourself.  Believe in the work.  Linda Sue Park
6 Comments

Filed under Getting Published, writing

6 responses to “Favorite Quotes from SCBWI Winter 2011

  1. Interesting quotes!!! I like the say yes to evrything one, lol!!

    I’m glad you had a great time!

  2. Wendy

    Would love to hear more about the conference. Great quotes too! Did you talk to Jane Yolen? As a fellow Smithie you’d have had the proverbial foot in the door 🙂

  3. vtremp

    I will sprinkle more about the conference over the next few weeks. Jane Yolen signed How Do Dinosaurs Go to Bed for the boys and How Do Dinosaurs Go to School for my niece and nephew (as did the illustrator, Mark Teague). While she signed I mentioned our Smith connection. She looked up at me, asked when I was there, then turned to her daughter and conferred about when they lived in the area or when another family member was there (2005). Unfortunately, I got to her at the end of the autograph hour.

  4. Lisa P

    Hello Vicki –
    Had a great time in NYC…dinner at Pera was the highlight…so great to meet you. Looking forward to seeing more of your future endeavors in the publishing world!
    Many best wishes…
    L.

  5. Ooh, fun! I love Mo Willems! He wasn’t at the 2013 LA conference but sent a funny video short of him tied up & unable to make it. And that RL Stine advice about saying yes to everything…good stuff!

Leave a Reply

