Read-Through Thursday: Great Expectations

This is a new series for my blog, wherein I will discuss whatever book or books I’m reading or have just finished that week.  Feel free to post in the comments what you’re reading this week, too, or your own thoughts about the books I discuss.

1/13/10:  Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

I know, I know.  I wrote about this book on Monday.  But I haven’t read enough of Matched to have anything worth saying yet.  And I came across a new passage I love in GE:

“Look at me,” said Miss Havisham.  “You are not afraid of a woman who has never seen the sun since you were born?”

I regret to state that I was not afraid of telling the enormous lie comprehended in the answer “No.”

Let me say, too, that Miss Havisham is unlike any character I have yet come across.  Pip remarks that the room she sits in seems to have stopped in time.  The clocks are all stopped at the same time.  Miss Havisham wears a yellowing wedding dress.  If she picks up an item from the table next to her, she replaces it in exactly the same position.  She even wears just one shoe, while the other sits on the table next to Miss Havisham.  Pip, and the reader, gets the impression that nothing has changed in that room since Miss Havisham donned the wedding dress.  We don’t yet know how long ago that was.

And Pip continues to make me laugh.

Not to worry, Friends.  I already have a non-Great Expectations-related post planned for next Monday.

2 Comments

Filed under Reading

2 responses to “Read-Through Thursday: Great Expectations

  1. LOL, I saw GREAT EXPECTATIONS and glazed over. My all time hated book. 🙂 I was forced to read it in high school and never forgave my teacher. Now, I LOVE classics. For some reason that book didn’t sit well. I think I might have ended up grounded and missed going out with friends or soemthing. 🙂

    • vtremp

      I was forced to read classics in HS. During summer vacation. AND I had to write book reports on them. My dad should have been a professor.

      Thanks for stopping by!
      Vicki

Leave a Reply

