Snow Day

Hope everyone has enjoyed a holiday or some time off this month (regardless of your beliefs).  For those of you who are snowed in, I hope you are making the most of it.  My boys are looking forward to sledding today.  I’m looking forward to them sledding while I continue revising Sophie.

This weekend I got to enjoy several movies related to books:  Star Wars: The Clone Wars, Scott Pilgrim vs the World, The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, and Prince Caspian.  The kids were a bit confused by the Narnia movies, especially the beginnings, but enjoyed them none the less.

I am constantly amazed by how my childrens’ brains work.  At dinner last night the 4 year old said, “What if Hagrid was Hagrid the Hut?”  To which RocketMan replied:  “A big, hairy blob with a magical umbrella?  Cool.”

Maybe instead of sledding they should make a Hagrid the Hut Snowman.  Too bad it’s powdery snow.

Maybe my 7 year old will want to read the Chronicles of Narnia soon.  He’s currently about halfway through the 2nd Harry Potter book:  The Chamber of Secrets.  Every night when I come to turn off his light, sing him a song and say goodnight, he begs for a few more minutes or a few more pages.  Then again, he has a couple of Magic Treehouse books, How To Train Your Dragon and a few others he received for his birthday or Chanukah.  There is never any shortage of books in this house!

Thanks to all this family movie time, I have completed several crocheting projects (4 pairs of fingerless mitts, and 3 hats) and the bug hasn’t yet run its course.  What should I make next?  I like quicky, easy projects that satisfy my need to get back to revising, and my need for almost immediate gratification (since I don’t get that from writing – LOL).

Well, I hope you are enjoying the comforts of a warm hearth or a warm beach, or at the very least, somplace dry.

2 Comments

Filed under The rest of my life

2 responses to “Snow Day

  1. Snow day indeed–I’m snowed in! Might tackle my MG since I’ve tweaked TB enough for now.

    Your kids have such great imaginations!!! Hagrid the Hut, lol!

  2. What a happy family! Thank you for sharing your family times. Blessings to you all…

Leave a Reply

