Reasons to write YA

The end of the year is a good time to look back before looking forward.  So here is my list of reasons I’m glad to be a young adult writer.

  • I read lots and lots of awesome YA books.
  • I hang out on Twitter with lots and lots of awesome YA writers/authors.
  • I learn about new awesome books before they are even published.
  • I relive some awful, embarrassing, or wonderful, empowering moments of my life.
  • I suffer teen-like angst about my writing abilities.
  • I relive all the self-doubt I thought I had conquered more years ago than I plan to let on in this public forum.
  • I have made awesome friends through writing, including (but not limited to) my critique partners.
  • I have conversations about my favorite topic (books!) with my teenaged niece and nephew.
  • I am the family YA book expert.
  • I compile lists of books for my 7-year-old son to read now or in the future.
  • I attend conferences with other writers and agents, editors, book publicists, etc. to learn more about childrens’ publishing, which has the added benefit of giving this Mama a very short break from being a Mama.
  • I read any time of day and call it research.
  • The manager of the café in our library knows me.
  • I read my friends manuscripts and get to help them make them better.

Feel free to add your own reasons in the comments.

Yay YA!

4 Comments

Filed under writing

4 responses to “Reasons to write YA

  1. Sounds like it works for you. I think my MS will turn out to be YA. It’s a mystery, but it’s going to appeal more to YA. I could be totally wrong about this. Anyway, it’s a great genre. Blessings to you…

  2. I write YA to relive all the firsts. The first love, the first heartbreak, the first time behind the wheel. And who can forget the first highschool party, the first dance (Prom anybody) and the first huge life altering decision. College. That is why I write YA.

Leave a Reply

