Shh…a secret

Time to come clean.  I’ve been cheating…on YA writing.  Lately, I’ve been working on short stories for young kids.  I needed a break.  A fresh way to look at my work.  And, in a weird way, it all connects.

You see, I’m writing stories about African savannah animals, like those I saw when I visited the Serengeti and the Masai Mara when I lived in Rwanda.  (And in case you don’t remember, or are new to the blog, the YA novel I’m revising takes place in Rwanda.)  I guess I’m still fascinated by elephants, giraffes, hippos and wildebeest.  And I want to share that fascination with kids.

Who doesn’t love safari animals, right?

Short stories are quite a different thing than a novel.  Okay, length obviously.  But more than that.  Sure, I still need a story problem, layered characters, a goal and obstacles to achieving that goal.  But I don’t need sub-plots, or plot layers, or as many obstacles as in a novel.  And the characters don’t have to be as deep.  They just have to be likeable and/or relatable to young children.

I think I’ve accomplished that.  And given a taste of the wondrous land that is the East African savannah. 

Well, we’ll see how it goes.  We’ll see if I have any better luck as a short story writer than as a YA novel writer.  Not that I’m giving up on Kwizera (or Sophie).  I’m still revising, and reading, and getting critiques.  I’m getting there.

I’m getting there.

2 Comments

Filed under writing

2 responses to “Shh…a secret

  1. Oooh, what fun! A change of pace can be reinvigorating, for sure! 😀

  2. Elizabeth

    Sounds great! You’ll definitely have takers in this household.

Leave a Reply

