Hugs Solve Everything, or getting through the querying process

Last week was rough. 

The querying process roughs you up.  All those letters that distill an entire manuscript and months and months of time and tears into one page, that either go unanswered or answered with an impersonal form email.  I know that agents are busy.  They get bombarded with queries for projects that are unfinished or inappropriate or just don’t fit their list.  I get it.  I really do.

That doesn’t stop the process from being draining.

“This is one hell of a ride,” my husband (let’s call him Rocket Man – for obvious reasons to those who know him) said a few weeks ago.

The best support I get, however, is from my two little guys (sorry, Rocket Man).  The 7 year old can’t wait to read Kwizera, even though it’s about a teen girl in Africa, and Sophie, even though it’s about a teen girl in France.  The other night at bedtime he asked me a ton of questions about Sophie.  He wanted details.  He wanted the twist.  And then his mouth dropped open.  That was awesome!

Last week I got another rejection to a partial, this time personalized.  The agent said the subject matter of Kwizera was too dark, but this agent admired “the heck out of me” for writing something so honest.  Wow.  That was pretty cool, but it was still a rejection.

Enter the 4 year old.  We were putting on our shoes to go out to a playdate, when he asked why I looked so sad.  I didn’t know how to explain what I was feeling in a way he would understand, so I just hugged him.  He hugged me tightly then pulled away and said, “Thanks, Mommy.  I needed that, too.”

THAT made me burst into tears!

So bring on the rough stuff.  I can take it.  I’ve got the best cheerleaders in the whole entire world (one of the 4 year old’s favorite phrases).

I will keep querying and writing in the hopes that someday the 7 year old will get to read my published books.  And I will look forward to the next rejection so I can get more of the 4 year old’s awesome hugs.

6 Comments

Filed under Getting Published, The rest of my life

6 responses to “Hugs Solve Everything, or getting through the querying process

  1. Your post brought tears to my eyes. Happy tears. Kids are the greatest gift.

  2. Gail

    Love this post and love hugs, especially from my kids. They’re older than yours 10 & 12 so they don’t dole them out as much as your children do.
    Actually I love hugs from all including my three cats, neighbor’s kittens, friend’s dogs & cats, friends and my husband.

    It’s great that your seven-year-old is so interested in reading your MSs. Some day both of your little sweethearts will read your published books!

  3. I’m glad to hear you have such great supports!!! *hugs*

    • vtremp

      Aw, Suzanne, sorry to make you cry. 😉

      Gail, I thank goodness I still have at least one young enough to still want to hug on a regular basis.

      Laura, *hugs* back at ya!

  4. Wow! It looks like all we querying moms are getting comfort from our kids!!

    So sweet about the “I needed that, too” part of the hug. You’re raising a wonderful little man.

    I gave you an award over at my blog as one of the great blogs I’ve recently discovered. Looking forward to more of your brilliance as we go through the querying process together!

    • vtremp

      Thanks, Katrina, for the comment, the compliments and the blog award. If we can’t get comfort from our kids (especially at that age), then where else will we get it, right? The 4 yo actually told the 7 yo this story tonight and the 7 yo said, “I wish I had been there, too.” If I ever go back to my MG mss, I’ll try reading them out loud to both boys and see if they start imitating my characters. That still makes me chuckle!

Leave a Reply

