…and waiting

I’m not telling you where I am in my quest for an agent, but suffice it to say that I am waiting again.  I’m not complaining about the length of time I have to wait – it’s just part of the process.  I get that and accept it.

But.  “And there is a but” (as judge Nigel Lythgoe said on one of my favorite shows, So You Think You Can Dance, which is about to start its new season – squee!).

But.  Butterflies have set up permanent residence in my belly.  I am driving close friends and family a bit crazy with my manic moments.  My house is cleaner than it has been since we moved in (well, maybe not today.  One child spilled his snack on the family room carpet in about the same place the puppy peed a few hours later).  I’m having a hard time talking about anything other than the Search.

In my previous post about waiting, I mentioned playing my oboe and handwork projects.  Alas, I finished my latest knitting project and have no desire to start a new one.  Although I missed having such a project on Mother’s Day when I spent 4 hours as a passenger in the car.  I really should play my oboe, however.  Vivaldi, Mozart and Marcello might calm me down.

Of course, the best thing I can do right now is to work on another writing project.  And I am.  I’m working on a new draft of Sophie.  It’s slow going; I haven’t yet found my steam.  But I will.

In the meantime, guess I’ll carve out a little time for some of my favorite dead men.  There’s nothing like Baroque oboe music to tame the butterflies.

8 Comments

Filed under Getting Published, writing

8 responses to “…and waiting

  1. You are the epitome of graceful waiting. However, I’m not sure that playing the oboe in the car will make other passengers happy! Even if it’s Vivaldi.

  2. Hey, VB! I’ve never been out on query before (working toward that this summer), so I can’t imagine what that waiting/endlessly refreshing your email/worrying family members to death thing is like. But I’m sure I’ll be right there with you when it’s my turn. When it comes to waiting, I know I’m gonna have to let this MS stew before revising. To pass the time, as soon as I write “The End” I’m gonna open up a new doc and write “Chapter One.” Now, I know you’re WELL past that draft stage, but maybe working like hell on a new novel will take some of that edge off. Good luck! (And happy oboe-ing :D)

    • vtremp

      You’ve got the right idea. As soon as 1 project is “out the door”, start a new one. That’s how I’m now working on my 5th novel. Good luck finishing your current MS.

  3. Christine Fonseca

    And the waiting just never really ends – all part of the biz at all levels. Good luck with everything!

    • vtremp

      Thanks, Tracy and Christine. I guess we all have to deal with waiting, a lot, and each in our own ways. My house is pretty clean right now. Still.

  4. Playing oboe is an awesome way to pass the time – it ‘roques! (I play too, and I heart my oboe but now I have to pry it away from my daughter when I want to play…) Good luck with the waiting. I know how difficult it is when you’re just itching to get to that next level.

  5. Yes, the waiting is killer. I’ve been practicing letting it go and just enjoying my own journey, no matter how long it takes. It gets hard as I see my writerly friends get contracts and land publishing deals, though. At the same time, I realize they are really talented people. I try to hang onto the hope that some day, I’ll be in their league and get to share my stories with the world at large.

    Thank God for hope. 😉

    • vtremp

      Hey Laura! It’s hard not to covet what others have, especially when it’s your dream, too. We’ll keep hanging in there together and writing and learning and revising and putting ourselves out there. Some day it’ll happen for us too.

Leave a Reply

