Thanks! Who am I?

Aren’t kids great?  They say the things that pop into their heads, the things we have learned to filter.  As a result, you know you can trust what they’re saying to be exactly what they believe and how they feel.  And I have learned from that candor.

A few weeks ago my four year old wore a pair of pants he has been wearing since the beginning of the school year.  While trying to get out the door to pre-school, he said, “Hey, I have pockets.”  Um, yeah.  This was news to him, somehow, but it was also really special to him. 

It reminded me how special it is to find out new things about ourselves.  Young kids find out new things about themselves and their world every day.  How cool is that?

This same little one regularly thanks me and his dad for all sorts of random things that normally go unthanked in the real world.  For example, tonight when we parked at Friendly’s – a place we don’t go to often because we don’t eat out all that often thanks to DH being a wonderful chef – the four year old said, “Thanks for bringing us here, Daddy.”  Even though he already knew we were going to Friendly’s for dinner tonight.

I teach French once a week for 15 to 20 minutes to my six year old’s first grade class.  Last Wednesday, he came home from school and right after saying hello to me and walking through the door, he said, “Thanks for coming in today, Mom.”

My point is that young kids are so much better at expressing their emotions than we give them credit for.  They feel gratitude for everything, and usually tell you.  They notice almost everything, and usually tell you.

As writers, we can learn so much from our children and students.  Following the example they set can make our writing richer and more impactful.  All we have to do is watch and listen.  And learn.

What have you learned lately from a child?

2 Comments

Filed under The rest of my life, writing

2 responses to “Thanks! Who am I?

  1. You are absolutely right. Children have a way of looking at the world that we’ve lost.

    I’ve learned from my seven and eleven-year-olds all of the time. And I’m a substitute teacher, so I’m privileged to get inside of the minds of my potential readers on a regular basis.

    Kids don’t know exactly who they are yet or what they’ll be. My son is an adventurous eater and likes to cook from time to time. At school, they did a quiz to see how well the classmates knew one another. 80% of my son’s classmates thought he’d be a chef. He beamed as he told me this. Having something unique about him made him feel special.

  2. One thing to note here:

    It’s evident to me from reading this post that you are an incredible parent, raising wonderful children to be grateful and polite. Children who say thank you and other kind words don’t often become that way by accident. They learn a great deal by example. But doesn’t it just warm your heart to hear the things they say?

Leave a Reply

