Beautiful Blogger Award

Beautiful Blogger AwardThanks to Jen Bee, the Tea Wren, for passing this award on to me. Now, to fulfill the requirements of the award I must share 7 facts about myself:

1. I have temporary obsessions like learning Greek or Spanish or to play the guitar, or crocheting beaded bracelets, and then I move on to the next obsession after about 3 to 8 weeks. Current obsession is knitting. It’s hard to read and knit at the same time, however.

2. My favorite protein is shrimp, except when I was pregnant, in which case my favorite source of protein was milk shakes and frozen yogurt. I’m lactose intolerant (bonus fact), and when I was pregnant was the only time I could naturally digest milk products. It was wonderful.

3. My husband and I pick travel locations based on food expectations, most recently Croatia which had amazing pizza and cured meats. Favorite foodie destination so far: Oaxaca, Mexico. Moles, anticuchos, carnitas, tacos al pastor…

4. I spent the summer after freshman year of college working in Paris for a software company, at which time I became fluent and read Hemingway in French (For Whom the Bell Tolls, of all things), discovered merguez sausage and pizza with an egg on top, and learned enough curse words so as not to smile when someone used them on me.

5. I am not enjoying my sons’ obsession with bodily functions. I grew up in a refined household where even the men kept their noises and smells to themselves. Why are burps (not to mention the other words and functions that come up at the dinner table) so dang funny? I don’t get it.

6. I miss singing. In my younger days, I could fill an empty house or apartment with top-of-the-lungs renditions of Linda Ronstadt, 1980’s pop, and Les Mis songs. Now I rarely get to spend time in an empty house, and when I do, I usually have some writing/plotting/revising to do. Or cleaning.

7. I went to a Waldorf school for 4 years, which is how I got started playing the oboe and learning French. If it hadn’t been for that school, I wouldn’t have sewn a unicorn and a nightdress, made an egg and a pestle in wood shop, knitted socks, learned to play the recorder and the violin, started learning German before college, or taken the movement class called Eurythmy. I wouldn’t say I enjoyed Eurythmy, but I minded it less than my classmates, maybe because I love dance (ooh, another bonus fact!).

And I have the pleasure of giving the award to 15 other beautiful bloggers:

My extraordinary critique partner Suzanne Lilly
My exceptional critique partner Laura Elaro
Suzette Saxton and Bethany Wiggins of Shooting Stars
Stina Lindenblatt of Seeing Creative
Christine Fonseca
Laura Diamond of Diamond – Yup, Like the Stone
The author of Scars, Cheryl Rainfield
The query ninja herself, Elana Johnson
Mary Lindsey
Sarah Wylie of Sarah with a chance
Jamie Harrington of Totally The Bomb
Tami Moore
Martina Boone and Marissa Graff of Adventures in Children’s Publishing
Debra Driza of Enjoying life with 3 dogs, 2 kids and an ADHD husband
Cole Gibsen of Hair Dye & Samurai

7 Comments

Filed under writing

7 responses to “Beautiful Blogger Award

  1. I’m honored! Thank you for thinking of me for the award!

  2. Thanks for the award! I used to knit. No time now. I also don’t get what it is with boys and their undesirable noises. It’s amazing what entertains them.

  3. It IS hard to knit and read at the same time. Of course, it might help if I was better at knitting.

    Thanks so much for the award! 🙂

  4. Thanks so much! Love the 7 facts.

  5. Merci beaucoup! You are very kind and generous, and your seven facts (plus bonus) are fascinating. Amazing about Rwanda. Good for you!

  6. Thanks for awarding us! We are beyond touched and we congratulate you on your own award 🙂

Leave a Reply

