Creative outlets for writers

I played my oboe the other day for the first time since last August.  It felt good.  A little painful, but mostly good.  It was a great way to get through the impatience of waiting for feedback from beta readers on the latest version of Kwizera.

Another way I wait is to start a knitting or crocheting project.  I used to crochet a lot.  Afghans, mostly with granny squares.  Beaded crocheted bracelets and necklaces.  A sweater.  Baby blankets.  Last winter my husband and I crocheted scarves for Special Olympics.  But mostly, since having kids, I keep my hands busy in the evenings by writing.

Every now and then, however, I need to do something other than write.  Once Kwizera is out the door to agents, I can focus on the next book.  In the meantime, I have to keep my hands and brain busy elsewhere.

The oboe and a handwork project are the perfect ways for me to keep busy in a creative way.  I recently crocheted a pair of fingerless mittens with a butterfly pattern, and now I’m knitting a scarf (in between Kwizera revisions).

We writers are creative people.  We must create something.  And making music, dancing or making something with our hands not only keeps us busy, such endeavors can also help break through writer’s block.  Creative juices flow, my mind is occupied on something other than my problem, and before I know it, I have a solution.

If nothing else I’ll have lots of warm accessories for next winter.  For now, I guess the scarf can wait, since Spring has arrived.  But the oboe is calling me.

Leave a comment

Filed under The rest of my life, writing

Leave a Reply

