State of the Reader

Today I’m feeling blown away by children’s literature.  There is just so much great stuff out there and I’m honored to have the opportunity to read it.  Obviously, I hope someday to be more part of it than I am now.  But for now, while I toil away in solitude, I surround myself with wonderful books, of all genres, for all ages.

Since beginning to write MG and YA, I’ve read so much of it, and as a result, my favorite genres have changed.  I didn’t think I was a fantasy (especially dystopian) reader, but Suzanne Collins, Sarah Rees Brennan, Lesley Livingston, Scott Westerfeld and Kristin Cashore have changed my mind.  I didn’t think I was a chick-lit/romance (as a sub-genre) reader, but I have enjoyed Maureen Johnson’s Scarlett and 13 Little Blue Envelopes books.  I didn’t think literary fiction was my thing, but Sara Zarr is just plain awesome.  There are plenty of other authors who have inspired my reading and writing (Libba Bray, Gennifer Choldenko and Rebecca Stead jump to mind).  I just can’t fit them all in here right now.  And new authors debut all the time.

I am so glad that I will never have to be without a good book!

This is also a good opportunity to offer public thanks to all the librarians in my life.  Ms. Leslie keeps my littlest guy entertained.  Sarah S. keeps my older son in good books, and gives me great opportunities to help out at the school library.  Elizabeth P. and Jennifer D. support my research, reading and writing in multiple ways.  And the reference librarian at my local public library kept bringing me books even while I sat among the stacks, pulling things off shelves.  And it was in one of those books that I found the exact photo I was looking for of the Paris Opera in 1895.

Not only do kids and teens need authors like those mentioned above.  They also need the dedicated librarians who keep abreast of the latest books and make sure those books are available to their youngest readers/patrons.

So what are some of your favorite books, Dear Readers?  And who would you like to thank for making you the reader and/or writer you are today?

2 Comments

Filed under Reading, writing

2 responses to “State of the Reader

  1. Elizabeth

    I love dystopian literature… 1984 and Brave New World got me hooked. I’ve never read dystopian YA before, though, so I’ll have to check out the authors you mention above.

    On an entirely different note, I’ve heard good things about The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall. I think it would be categorized as middle grade. It’s on my short list of books to try.

    Keep writing!

    • vtremp

      They’re not all dystopian authors, but definitely check out The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. And lots more dystopian YA is coming in the next few years.

Leave a Reply

